Well I suppose the verdict is out on this one :D
“a combot move on a 2-territory move, if the first territory your tank moves through is enemy controlled but not enemy occupied you may blitz it… that is place your control marker there as owner, and move into the second territory. the second territory may be enemy occupied, or enemy controlled, or a friendly territory, or a neutral territory.”
I’ve never played giving the tanks the ability to simply blitz out and return, but according to the rules (which admittedly I haven’t looked over in a while, not word for word anyways), I suppose it is possible.
We’ve always used blitzes as part of either an offensive where the first territory is enemy controlled and the second is occupied or where both are simply occupied (the latter happens often in Africa with German armour for example).
But yeah, if you go straight by the rules there’s no reason you CAN’T simply pick up a territory and then pull right back. All the more reason to never leave a territory empty; i.e. at least leave one INF there so the tank can’t pull this tactic off lest they want to strand the tank and I’d take exchanging a tank for an inf any day.
My apologies for leading you astray… 8)