The Germans have no destroyer present, therefore the defending air units can not hit the sub, and of course the sub can never hit planes. Think of it in terms of the combined arms rule, air units can only hit subs if they are combined with at least 1 participating destroyer, the difference with this particular combined arms is that it works while attacking and defending. In the scenario that you described, the sub would destroy the remaining transport without rolling and the defending fighters can do nothing.
Sub/Transport Question
-
Say the situation arises where at the end of Japans’ turn, they have 1 transport in a sz along with 2 or more ANZAC subs. On ANZACS turn, if 1 sub stays to kill the transport can the others move out? Or does the fact that the tt was attacked mean that the other sub(s) have to remain due to the fact that there was technically combat?
-
It is legal for one to stay and the others to leave.
-
@wittmann:
It is legal for one to stay and the others to leave.
Provided that they move out during the combat movement phase.
-
@Eggman:
@wittmann:
It is legal for one to stay and the others to leave.
Provided that they move out during the combat movement phase.
I thought you could only move on the combat phase if combat was involved.
-
Hi Larrie. On page 12 of Pacific rules it explains that a Sea Unit can move in Combat Move if it is in a Hostile SZ and wishes to avoid combat.
It is one of 4 occasions that a unit can end its combat in a Friendly Zone during Combat Move.
Hope that helps.
-
Hi Wittman, That does help and thank you.





