Game History
Round: 1 Purchase Units - Germans Germans buy 1 carrier, 1 destroyer and 1 submarine; Remaining resources: 0 PUs; Combat Move - Germans 3 armour moved from Greater Southern Germany to France 1 artillery moved from Western Germany to France 3 infantry moved from Western Germany to France 2 artilleries moved from Holland Belgium to France 2 infantry moved from Holland Belgium to France 3 armour moved from Holland Belgium to France 4 mech_infantrys moved from Western Germany to France 1 submarine moved from 124 Sea Zone to 111 Sea Zone 1 submarine moved from 118 Sea Zone to 111 Sea Zone 1 submarine moved from 108 Sea Zone to 110 Sea Zone 1 submarine moved from 103 Sea Zone to 110 Sea Zone 1 tactical_bomber moved from Germany to 110 Sea Zone 2 tactical_bombers moved from Western Germany to 110 Sea Zone 1 fighter moved from Holland Belgium to 110 Sea Zone 2 fighters moved from Western Germany to 110 Sea Zone 1 fighter moved from Norway to 111 Sea Zone 1 tactical_bomber moved from Western Germany to 111 Sea Zone 1 bomber moved from Germany to 111 Sea Zone 1 battleship moved from 113 Sea Zone to 111 Sea Zone 1 bomber moved from Germany to 110 Sea Zone 1 submarine moved from 117 Sea Zone to 106 Sea Zone 1 tactical_bomber moved from Poland to Yugoslavia 1 fighter moved from Slovakia Hungary to Yugoslavia 6 infantry moved from Greater Southern Germany to Yugoslavia 1 armour moved from Slovakia Hungary to Yugoslavia 1 armour moved from Romania to Yugoslavia Combat - Germans British scrambles 3 units out of United Kingdom to defend against the attack in 110 Sea Zone Battle in 111 Sea Zone Germans attack with 1 battleship, 1 bomber, 1 fighter, 2 submarines and 1 tactical_bomber British defend with 1 battleship, 1 cruiser and 1 destroyer Units damaged: 1 battleship owned by the British Units damaged: 1 battleship owned by the Germans 1 fighter owned by the Germans, 1 bomber owned by the Germans and 1 tactical_bomber owned by the Germans retreated 1 battleship owned by the Germans and 2 submarines owned by the Germans retreated to 112 Sea Zone British win with 1 battleship and 1 cruiser remaining. Battle score for attacker is 8 Casualties for British: 1 destroyer Battle in Yugoslavia Germans attack with 2 armour, 1 fighter, 6 infantry and 1 tactical_bomber Neutral_Allies defend with 5 infantry Germans win, taking Yugoslavia from Neutral_Allies with 2 armour, 1 fighter, 3 infantry and 1 tactical_bomber remaining. Battle score for attacker is 6 Casualties for Germans: 3 infantry Casualties for Neutral_Allies: 5 infantry Battle in 110 Sea Zone Germans attack with 1 bomber, 3 fighters, 2 submarines and 3 tactical_bombers British defend with 1 battleship, 1 cruiser and 2 fighters; French defend with 1 cruiser and 1 fighter Units damaged: 1 battleship owned by the British Germans win with 1 bomber, 2 fighters, 2 submarines and 1 tactical_bomber remaining. Battle score for attacker is 42 Casualties for Germans: 1 fighter and 2 tactical_bombers Casualties for British: 1 battleship, 1 cruiser and 2 fighters Casualties for French: 1 cruiser and 1 fighter Battle in France Germans attack with 6 armour, 3 artilleries, 5 infantry and 4 mech_infantrys British defend with 1 armour and 1 artillery; French defend with 1 aaGun, 1 airfield, 1 armour, 1 artillery, 1 factory_major, 1 fighter and 6 infantry Germans captures 19PUs while taking French capital Germans converts factory_major into different units Germans win, taking France from French with 6 armour, 1 artillery and 2 mech_infantrys remaining. Battle score for attacker is 22 Casualties for Germans: 2 artilleries, 5 infantry and 2 mech_infantrys Casualties for French: 1 aaGun, 1 armour, 1 artillery, 1 fighter and 6 infantry Casualties for British: 1 armour and 1 artillery Battle in 106 Sea Zone Germans attack with 1 submarine British defend with 1 destroyer and 1 transport Germans win, taking 106 Sea Zone from Neutral with 1 submarine remaining. Battle score for attacker is 15 Casualties for British: 1 destroyer and 1 transport Trigger Germans Conquer France: Setting switch to true for conditionAttachment_French_1_Liberation_Switch attached to French triggerFrenchDestroyPUsGermans: Setting destroysPUs to true for playerAttachment attached to French Non Combat Move - Germans 1 bomber, 1 fighter and 1 tactical_bomber moved from 111 Sea Zone to Western Germany 2 fighters moved from 110 Sea Zone to 112 Sea Zone 1 tactical_bomber moved from 110 Sea Zone to Western Germany 1 bomber moved from 110 Sea Zone to Western Germany 3 infantry moved from Norway to Finland Germans take Finland from Neutral_Axis 1 infantry moved from Romania to Bulgaria Germans take Bulgaria from Neutral_Axis 1 fighter moved from Yugoslavia to Southern Italy 1 tactical_bomber moved from Yugoslavia to Western Germany 1 aaGun moved from Western Germany to France 1 aaGun moved from Western Germany to Holland Belgium 2 infantry moved from Denmark to Western Germany 1 cruiser and 1 transport moved from 114 Sea Zone to 112 Sea Zone 1 aaGun moved from Germany to Slovakia Hungary 1 aaGun moved from Germany to Poland 1 infantry moved from Germany to Poland 1 artillery moved from Greater Southern Germany to Western Germany 1 artillery moved from Greater Southern Germany to Germany Place Units - Germans 1 carrier, 1 destroyer and 1 submarine placed in 112 Sea Zone Turn Complete - Germans Germans collect 39 PUs; end with 58 PUs Trigger Germans 5 Swedish Iron Ore: Germans met a national objective for an additional 5 PUs; end with 63 PUs Objective Germans 1 Trade with Russia: Germans met a national objective for an additional 5 PUs; end with 68 PUsFind league opponents here
-
Lookin for a game or two of G40 no bid no tech
P.M. me if interested -
I’ve got time for one or two more games…no tech. PM me with a bid for allies if interested.
-
'Looking for a game as well. I’d be up to tech, if tokens are allowed.
No LL-reroll.
-
Looking for a game…
I want to be the Allies+12… I have only one game with allies now and I loosing hard I want to practice my allies…
No tech, pure luck!
PM me…
-
I’ve looked at the Triple A issues and found a couple that aren’t really issues; Triple A is correct.
3) Paratroopers - c) does not allow you to add paratroopers to attack an undefended enemy territory.
2nd Edition Paratrooper rules, Page 40:
Up to 2 of your infantry units in each territory with an air base can be moved to an enemycontrolled
territory 3 or fewer spaces away that is being attacked by your land units from adjacent territories
and/or by amphibious assault.By definition, you cannot paratrooper into undefended territories. Non issue.
7) Fly overs –
b) Triple A does NOT allow Japan to fly over UK/French territories OR UK to fly over Japanese territories before UK/Japan are at war with one another, but there is no such rule restriction (Allies flying over China is all that should be restricted)Page 15 of the 2nd Edition Europe Rulebook, Page 15 in the box:
Powers Not at War with One Another
Neutral Powers: "…While a power remains neutral, it operates under even tighter restrictions. A neutral power can’t move land or air units into or through neutral territories. It
can’t move units into or through territories or onto ships belonging to another power or use another power’s naval bases, nor can another power move
land or air units into or through its territories or onto its ships or use its naval bases."THUS, even though the UK and ANZAC may be in the war in EUROPE, if they are not at war with Japan in the PACIFIC, they are considered neutral powers toward one another. i.e., this rule applies, and Japan can’t fly over UK territories, and UK can’t fly over Japanese territories. It’s no different that Germany being unable to fly over Russian territories during NCM before they’re at war.
-
I’ve looked at the Triple A issues and found a couple that aren’t really issues; Triple A is correct.
7) Fly overs –
b) Triple A does NOT allow Japan to fly over UK/French territories OR UK to fly over Japanese territories before UK/Japan are at war with one another, but there is no such rule restriction (Allies flying over China is all that should be restricted)Page 15 of the 2nd Edition Europe Rulebook, Page 15 in the box:
Powers Not at War with One Another
Neutral Powers: "…While a power remains neutral, it operates under even tighter restrictions. A neutral power can’t move land or air units into or through neutral territories. It
can’t move units into or through territories or onto ships belonging to another power or use another power’s naval bases, nor can another power move
land or air units into or through its territories or onto its ships or use its naval bases."THUS, even though the UK and ANZAC may be in the war in EUROPE, if they are not at war with Japan in the PACIFIC, they are considered neutral powers toward one another. i.e., this rule applies, and Japan can’t fly over UK territories, and UK can’t fly over Japanese territories. It’s no different that Germany being unable to fly over Russian territories during NCM before they’re at war.
You are incorrect. Only Russia has different political status on different boards. UK/ANZAC are at war at the beginning of the game, and are NOT neutral.
-
I’ve looked at the Triple A issues and found a couple that aren’t really issues; Triple A is correct.
3) Paratroopers - c) does not allow you to add paratroopers to attack an undefended enemy territory.
2nd Edition Paratrooper rules, Page 40:
Up to 2 of your infantry units in each territory with an air base can be moved to an enemycontrolled
territory 3 or fewer spaces away that is being attacked by your land units from adjacent territories
and/or by amphibious assault.By definition, you cannot paratrooper into undefended territories. Non issue.
I believe you are incorrect again. You can attack an undefended territory with paratroopers as long as you are attacking it with land units from adjacent territories.
You can attack an undefended territory with a land unit from an adjacent territory, AND attack it with paratroopers.
So you are incorrect about both issues, and Triple A is indeed wrong in both these cases.
Thanks for raising them to my attention, since you honestly believed you had found errors in my list - I appreciate that. -
@Gamerman01:
I believe you are incorrect again. You can attack an undefended territory with paratroopers as long as you are attacking it with land units from adjacent territories.You can attack an undefended territory with a land unit from an adjacent territory, AND attack it with paratroopers.
So you are incorrect about both issues, and Triple A is indeed wrong in both these cases.
Thanks for raising them to my attention, since you honestly believed you had found errors in my list - I appreciate that.AH. I believe this is due to poor wording on the issues page. I had read it as you were trying to attack an undefended territory with ONLY paratroopers. It should read:
"3) Paratroopers - c) does not allow you to add paratroopers to an existing attack on an undefended enemy territory from an adjacent territory or amphibious assault.
-
You are incorrect. Only Russia has different political status on different boards. UK/ANZAC are at war at the beginning of the game, and are NOT neutral.
I disagree. UK/ANZAC are at war…with Germany and Italy, not Japan.
2nd Edition, European Rulebook, page 38:
“When not yet at war with Japan, in addition to the normal restrictions (see “Powers Not at War with One Another,†page 15), the United Kingdom may not move
units into or through China.”This specifically states that the prior-mentioned rules DO apply to the UK in regards to movement with Japan.
-
I believe it was already sufficiently clear because it already said “does not allow you to add paratroopers”, which would imply that there are already other units attacking, but I added a parenthetical supplement in an attempt to make it clearer, as you have recommended.
-
I disagree. UK/ANZAC are at war…with Germany and Italy, not Japan.
Of course, but again, only Russia has the split map political status in regards to neutrality. Krieghund has explained this.
2nd Edition, European Rulebook, page 38:
“When not yet at war with Japan, in addition to the normal restrictions (see “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 15), the United Kingdom may not move
units into or through China.”This specifically states that the prior-mentioned rules DO apply to the UK in regards to movement with Japan.
No it doesn’t, because it doesn’t say UK is neutral with respect to Japan. It says UK flying over China or moving into it is prohibited without a DOW from UK on Japan.
However, the Triple A problem is not with China.
Again, I have confirmed this with Krieghund.
There is no restriction for Japan flying over Allied territories. UK is not neutral. There is no special rule for the UK territories and FIC like there is for China.If you still disagree, just take it up with Krieghund. He’ll set you straight if I haven’t already.
-
Also note that UK/ANZ may fly over Japanese controlled territories when not at war with Japan. The only restriction is China, which is the rule you pointed out. And as you can see, my #7 problem with flyovers specifically points out the China rule.
Again, thanks, but you’re wrong.
-
Okay, did a reread (I think I’m getting a law degree from figuring out the rules :lol: )
So, while the rules on page 15 apply to Powers not at War With One Another, only the Combat and Movement parts apply. The part I quoted was for Neutral powers, which can only be Russia and the US, hence don’t apply to UK/ANZAC, or Japan.
I rescend my statements. Carry on!
-
Sure thing, like I said, your comments are welcome
Yeah, the rules are about as complicated and easy to misunderstand as the Internal Revenue Code, or any other Federal or State laws for that matter, like you said. -
I did unearth an extremely rare scenario that is against the rules:
“Triple A will allow a player to unload a unit from a friendly transport during CM and take control of an undefended territory, even though an opposing player is able to scramble and or cause naval combat to occur.”
So the set up was, as the Axis, I had control of Gibraltar, with an airbase and a fighter. France, during CM, is unloading 3 infantry from US/UK transports, with none of their naval units in the SZ. I scramble. What happens?
Since it is France’s turn, Germany cannot sink a US/UK transport, as they aren’t a part of the CM. However, as France is initiating combat, and I scrambled, a naval battle occurs with 0 French units and 1 German fighter. France, while not losing any naval units as they have none in battle, cannot amphibiously land in Gibraltar, as they were not able to successfully resolve naval combat. No units are lost, but France should not be allowed to land.
I guess this situation could also arrise if a UK transport moves next to Italy with a French troop on board. If Italy buys a destroyer or plane, France would be unable to amphib anything.
-
That is a good point that has not been raised (and has not occurred in my own games) and I don’t think it’s actually extremely rare. So I will add it to my list.
You are simply not allowed to unload amphibiously from an allied transports if you have no attacking naval or air units. So if the defender scrambles or the sea zone has become hostile, in such case a combat move off the transports is not allowed. (per Krieghund)
So are you saying Triple A does/did allow the amphibious assault? (In your example with Gibraltar)
Just wanted to confirm - I will add it to the list in the meantime -
First come first serve: I’m up for a game, no tech, pure luck.
-
Looking for 2 league games (G40- no tech, 2nd ed.). Also, if anyone is interested in a G42 on the side that would be nice too…its been over a year since playing AA so I’m really shaking off the dust. :-)
-
Looking for 2 league games (G40- no tech, 2nd ed.). Also, if anyone is interested in a G42 on the side that would be nice too…its been over a year since playing AA so I’m really shaking off the dust. :-)
1942 - looking for a little nostalgia ey? :wink:
-
Looking for 2 league games (G40- no tech, 2nd ed.).� Also, if anyone is interested in a G42 on the side that would be nice too…its been over a year since playing AA so I’m really shaking off the dust. :-)
1942 - looking for a little nostalgia ey?  :wink:
No, not AA50- 1942, the new setup made official by Larry a few months ago Global 1942- its also on Triple A now. Interested???