Ruling Request:
Mr.Yogen and I have come to an impasse.
I, the Japanese, attacked the Allied fleet off the Carolines and won in 3 rounds – a major victory. I asked for OOL R1 of the battle, and at the end of R1 we both had lost all our submarines. I attacked two more rounds and killed the Allied fleet. I did not ask for OOLs R2 and R3 because I was going for broke and thus kept the strongest Allied units defending.
Mr.Yogen is requesting as a matter of absolute right an entre reroll of the battle for my failure to ask for OOLs R2 and R3. I respond that OOLs were after R1 irrelevant, unless Mr.Yogen wanted to keep weaker defending units over stronger units, which would have only encouraged me to continue to the fight and would have resulted in fewer defending hits anyway. As I say, OOLs would have made no difference after R1 but to increase my margine of victory.
So can MrYogen get a reroll for the entire battle for my failure to ask for OOL R2 and R3?
Anyhow – here is the battle as I pulled it off from the TrippleA history:
Combat
Battle in 33 Sea Zone
Japanese attack with 2 battleships, 2 bombers, 2 carriers, 1 cruiser, 5 destroyers, 4 fighters, 2 submarines and 4 tactical_bombers
Americans defend with 2 battleships, 3 carriers, 3 cruisers, 3 destroyers, 5 fighters, 2 submarines, 1 tactical_bomber and 2 transports
Japanese roll dice for 2 submarines in 33 Sea Zone, round 1 : 1/2 hits
Units damaged: 1 battleship owned by the Americans
Americans roll dice for 2 submarines in 33 Sea Zone, round 1 : 0/2 hits
Japanese roll dice for 2 battleships, 2 bombers, 2 carriers, 1 cruiser, 5 destroyers, 4 fighters and 4 tactical_bombers in 33 Sea Zone, round 1 : 11/18 hits
Units damaged: 1 battleship owned by the Americans
Americans roll dice for 2 battleships, 3 carriers, 3 cruisers, 3 destroyers, 5 fighters, 1 tactical_bomber and 2 transports in 33 Sea Zone, round 1 : 7/17 hits
Units damaged: 2 battleships owned by the Japanese
2 submarines owned by the Americans , 2 destroyers owned by the Americans , 3 carriers owned by the Americans , 3 destroyers owned by the Japanese and 2 submarines owned by the Japanese lost in 33 Sea Zone
Japanese roll dice for 2 battleships, 2 bombers, 2 carriers, 1 cruiser, 2 destroyers, 4 fighters and 4 tactical_bombers in 33 Sea Zone, round 2 : 9/15 hits
Americans roll dice for 2 battleships, 3 cruisers, 1 destroyer, 5 fighters, 1 tactical_bomber and 2 transports in 33 Sea Zone, round 2 : 7/12 hits
4 fighters owned by the Americans , 1 destroyer owned by the Americans , 2 tactical_bombers owned by the Japanese , 3 cruisers owned by the Americans , 1 carrier owned by the Japanese , 1 destroyer owned by the Japanese , 1 tactical_bomber owned by the Americans and 2 fighters owned by the Japanese lost in 33 Sea Zone
Japanese roll dice for 2 battleships, 2 bombers, 1 carrier, 1 cruiser, 1 destroyer, 2 fighters and 2 tactical_bombers in 33 Sea Zone, round 3 : 4/10 hits
Americans roll dice for 2 battleships, 1 fighter and 2 transports in 33 Sea Zone, round 3 : 1/3 hits
1 fighter owned by the Americans , 2 battleships owned by the Americans , 1 transport owned by the Americans and 1 destroyer owned by the Japanese lost in 33 Sea Zone
1 transport owned by the Americans lost in 33 Sea Zone
Japanese win with 2 battleships, 2 bombers, 1 carrier, 1 cruiser, 2 fighters and 2 tactical_bombers remaining. Battle score for attacker is 125
Casualties for Japanese: 1 carrier, 5 destroyers, 2 fighters, 2 submarines and 2 tactical_bombers
Casualties for Americans: 2 battleships, 3 carriers, 3 cruisers, 3 destroyers, 5 fighters, 2 submarines, 1 tactical_bomber and 2 transports