Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)


  • @Krieghund:

    If the transports aren’t hit, they can retreat.  They cannot offload in the same turn.  If they can’t retreat for some reason, they are lost, along with their cargo.

    Can the transports offload in the non-combat phase if they retreated to a sea zone with a friendly territory attached?

  • TripleA '12

    Can the transports offload in the non-combat phase if they retreated to a sea zone with a friendly territory attached?

    Nope, retreated Transports can never offload during the turn they retreated.


  • A transport may participate in the combat phase or in the non-combat phase, but not both on the same turn.

  • TripleA '12

    @Fortress:

    A transport may participate in the combat phase or in the non-combat phase, but not both on the same turn.

    Hi Fortress. Not true - a unit can never participate in combat during the Noncombat Move phase as the Conduct Combat phase for that turn is already over.


  • I think you misunderstood my post. I was simply stating that the transport in question can’t participate in a non-combat move. And the reason it can’t is because it had already participated in the combat. Its retreat is irrelevant and only matters because it put the transport into a location where it became timely to ask the question. This limitation is true of every unit in the game except those where it is expressly permitted (air units and blitzing units) as a definition of special abilities.

    Please forgive my shortened version of that answer that may have caused some confusion.

  • TripleA '12

    No problem and thanks for clarifying.  :-)


  • can british units from india capture territory on europe board, and if so does the money go to england?

  • Official Q&A

    Yes and yes.


  • @Krieghund:

    Yes and yes.

    thought so…thanks.

  • Sponsor

    During the non-combat phase, can a transport carrying cargo move into, and than unload from a sea zone that contains only enemy submarines?


  • @Young:

    During the non-combat phase, can a transport carrying cargo move into, and than unload from a sea zone that contains only enemy submarines?

    yes.


  • IF italy declares war on russia, takes a russian territory, is reinforced with a german non-com (germany does not declare) and russia does not dow on germany, can russia still collect from 125 if there are no axis ships there?  and can russia counter the italians while ignoring the germans?


  • yes for the money, as ussr is at war. no for the counter-attack; they need to declare war on germany to kill germans.


  • well no killing germans, just killing italians

  • Official Q&A

    @ghr2:

    can russia counter the italians while ignoring the germans?

    No.


  • @Krieghund:

    @ghr2:

    can russia counter the italians while ignoring the germans?

    No.

    whats the reasoning behind it?


  • or is it in the rulebook?

  • Official Q&A

    Page 15 of the Europe Rulebook.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @ghr2:

    IF italy declares war on russia, takes a russian territory, is reinforced with a german non-com (germany does not declare) and russia does not dow on germany, can russia still collect from 125 if there are no axis ships there?  and can russia counter the italians while ignoring the germans?

    @Fortress:

    yes for the money, as ussr is at war. no for the counter-attack; they need to declare war on germany to kill germans.

    A)  Why would Russia not DOW Germany at this point?  You cannot collect for SZ 125 if you are not at war, and Germany is collecting an NO from not being at war with you.
    B)  All allied units defend together - this is how it has been since Classic.


  • I have a ton of little questoins that came up while playing (AAG40.2) and i doubt i can remember them all. Some aren’t 1940-related, but bear with me :-P

    1. before USA and URSS declare war / are declared, can they activate  pro-allies neutrals?

    2. what if f.ex. URSS invades a neutral before being at war? If any allied power attacks a neutral minor power, all true-neutrals will become pro-axis, but if URSS (while neutral) invades a neutral minor power, what happens?

    3. a friend told me that if a neutral minor ‘survives’ an attack, it will ‘regenerate’ its troops back to their starting quantity, is that the case?

    4. if all neutrals become pro-axis, they won’t activate the soviet “+3$ per axis territory” NO, right?

    5. i just installed and played tripleA a little, and one thing i noticed is that aircraft carriers are ALWAYS choosen as casualities, to absorb damage, first, before anything else. Well, sometimes i much rather sacrifice a sub or two so my planes can still land! Do battleship/carriers HAVE to absorb one hit before you can start sacrificing stuff?

    6. this one caused some discussion. If you move an aircraft carrier + its planes to attack, do the planes sort out BEFORE the carrier start moving, or AFTER? Can i, during the combat move turn, move my aircarrier 2 seazones, THEN from that new location move my fighters 2, sink a transport, then move them back to land on the ship?

    7. can you build a minor factory in a territory that wasnt originally yours? 6b. Or a territory with no income? Like, germans building a minor factory in Bessarabia (a soviet territory with 0 income).

    8. all allied units defend togheter (like UK and anzac troops in egypt); i was told this is not the case for allied planes loaded on carriers? Say, an uk and a soviet plane on Uk carrier, both at war with italy, are attacked, the soviet plane won’t fight?

    Man, there are more, but i can’t remember now. ty in advance.

Suggested Topics

Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

68

Online

17.8k

Users

40.4k

Topics

1.8m

Posts