We’re cool Cow, no worries. The exception can be found on page 3 just above the map section. I don’t know if there’s an Europe 1940 errata, but a quick search found no such thing. I’m hoping they include Global errata once the new editions come out.
http://www.wizards.com/\AvalonHill\rules\AA Pacific 1940 FAQ_VER1.pdf
I still want kreig to explain this, because I am remaining in the sea zone and conducting combat… the finished product does not say I cannot load my transports. It would take an intepretation of the rules to say otherwise and why would someone intepret the rules that way?
It is in the rules though.
At the beginning of the Combat Move phase, you may
already have sea units in spaces containing enemy units that
were there at the start of your turn. For example, an enemy
may have built new sea units in a sea zone where you have
surface warships. When your turn comes around again, you
are sharing that sea zone with enemy forces.
If you are sharing a sea zone with enemy surface warships
(not submarines and/or transports), this situation requires
you to do one of the following:
� Remain in the sea zone and conduct combat,
� Leave the sea zone, load units if desired, and conduct
combat elsewhere,
� Leave the sea zone, load units, and return to the same sea
zone to conduct combat (you cannot load units while in a
hostile sea zone), or
� Leave the sea zone and conduct no combat.
Once these sea units have moved and/or participated in
combat, they cannot move or participate in the Noncombat
Move phase of the turn.
The wording for this isn’t ‘you may’ or ‘you could’ . . . it’s “this situation requires you to do one of the following.” Nowhere in there does it list loading troops in a contested seazone as an option. Also, just because it doesn’t explicitly state that you can’t load troops in this situation doesn’t mean that it’s an allowed move. I could just say that US gets 50 ipcs extra every 10th turn and then point to the rules saying where does it say that I can’t get it. Obviously that’s a pretty extreme situation and no I’m not asking for another 50 (I’ll take it though if Germany/Japan wants to make a donation). But me dropping a DD into sz113 will create a situation covered by the rules above and on Germany’s turn, you will have to take one of the actions above.
It wasn’t possible to build into a hostile seazone in AAR and Classic. So this situation never came up in those iterations. I haven’t played classic in some time so my memory could be off. But say a transport was in sz A and some infantry were in a terr adjacent to sz B. I’m pretty sure that an enemy ship/fleet would prevent the first player from loading those troops in combat. I never played aa50, so I wouldn’t know about that game.