Hey cts……I found these two things after reading Bold’s post.
This is from the rule book
“The U.S. player places the new Chinese units at the same time that the new U.S. units are placed. They may be placed on any Chinese-controlled territories, however those units cannot be placed on any territory that already contains three or more units.”
SO, the way it reads would lead one to believe any 3 units, however….
I found this at Larry’s site under FAQ
Q. New Chinese units may not be placed in a territory that already contains three or more units.
Does the “three or more units” refer to the number that were there before I started placing
units, or does it include any units I place this turn? In other words, if I already had two units in
a territory, can I only place one more there, or can I place as many as I want to?
The “three or more units” refers to the number of Chinese units that were in the territory before you started placing units. If there are less than three to start with, you may place any number of your new units there.
So it looks like you can place the infantry in Yunnan. I did not know about the question in FAQ and was operating off of what someone else on here had told me through the rule book.