Tinydictator: First Blood (Axis)


  • Let me add that the swing in Hawaii - 3,5 hits on my favour - is huge considering the number of units involved, but as I said I don’t need any surviving inf, just to hold the territory. So a 1,5 swing (like you hitting 2 on your second round) would be enough.


  • no need to re-roll, just some need of bitching.

    Obviously I did not calculate this battle in advance as precisely. If someone would have told me “look you have a 10% chance of failure without the Ftr”, I would have send the fighter in. So I fully take the blame.

    But still, even though not taking Hawaii is the main desaster, having 2 Infs surviving there adds insult to injury. If it would have been mutual annihilation at last I may have a (better) chance at a later point, which is no rather doubtful. Depending on your moves, of course.


  • I can totally relate to the need of b*tching about bad luck!  :-) It does make a difference though, so feel free to reconsider re-rolling Japan’s turn after my US, China and UK turn.

    I just noticed I have one transport missing in W.US, bought it in the first turn and never placed it (I’ll correct to two there).

    US 3

    Buy (66):

    1 inf (3)
    2 subs (12)
    3 tra (21)
    1 dd (8)
    2 fig (20)
    save 2

    Combat:

    Sz89: 1 dd, 1 tac, 1 ac (Sz10) - I checked and Sz64 connects to Sz11

    1 dd, 1 tac, 1 ac v 1 sub
    DiceRolls: 1@2 1@3; Total Hits: 21@2: (1)1@3: (2)
    DiceRolls: 1@1; Total Hits: 11@1: (1)


  • Hit on the dd.

    That sub is a hero, has given me nothing but trouble and, true to form, went down fighting… I take my hat off as he sinks into the cold depths.

    NCM:

    S.Me: 1 inf, 1 art (C.US)
    W.US: 1 fig (land from Sz10)
    Sz89: 1 tra (Sz10)
    Sz25: 1 dd (Sz10)
    Sz10: 1 sub (Sz12)

    Build:

    W.US: 2 subs, 1 dd (Sz10), 2 figs
    E.US: 3 tra

    No need to roll for convoy raiding of Hawaii, I’ll take the 1 IPC off.

    Collects:

    49+20 (69)


  • Place inf in E.US too, and add the two to the income that I saved (71).

    China 3:

    Buy (16):

    5 inf (15)
    save 1

    Combat:

    Kwe: 1 inf (Yun)
    Kwa: 1 inf (Yun)
    Anh: 1 inf (Hop)
    Jeh: 1 inf (Cha)

    Jeh
    1 inf v 1 inf (first hit)
    DiceRolls: 10@1; Total Hits: 210@1: (2, 1, 6, 4, 1, 6, 4, 6, 3, 2)
    DiceRolls: 10@2; Total Hits: 210@2: (3, 5, 4, 3, 3, 1, 6, 5, 6, 2)


  • Those Cha chinese communists have been outstanding too…

    NCM:

    Sik: 1 inf (She)
    Hop: 3 inf (Sui), 1 fig (Bur)

    Build:

    She: 1 inf
    Cha: 1 inf
    Yun: 3 inf

    Collect:

    12


  • well I can’t re-roll everytime I have bad luck, can’t I?

    Concerning the sub - it was a true hero indeed (one iron cross with oak leafs coming up), but are you sure that sz64 connects to sz11? I always thought it didn’t. If you put the maps together, it is sz28 that connects to sz64.

    Concerning your transport, I’m pretty sure that you did place it - it is exactly the transport that is in sz10 right now. Your other two transports got both destroyed when I attacked sz26 in J1 and J2 (as one Pearl Harbour wasn’t enough for you  :wink: ).


  • although I do feel slightly insulted by the fact that the Chinese infantery that defeated 2 Inf and 1 Ftr now goes and singlehandedly kills the Inf that I “wisely” withdrew.

    btw they are the nationalist chinese, no commies there (yet)!


  • You’re right about the transport - I’ll move it with the ac then, no tra in Sz10.

    SZ64 does connect, I don’t have the Europe rules with me but it says so in here, for example:

    http://www.axisandallies.org/p/axis_allies_europe_1940_preview_4_the_global_rules/

    UK 3

    Buy (12 UK Pacific):

    1 inf (3)
    1 art (4)
    1 AA (5)

    Combat:

    Irq: 1 inf (Ind, via tra Sz39), 1 fig, 1 tac (India); 1 cc (Sz76); 1 bb (Sz39)
    Eth: 1 tan (blitzes on the way to Eth)
    Sz56: 1 fig (W.Au), 1 dd

    This is a bit risky, but the Italians can’t have that infantry join their middle east advance…

    Irq
    1 inf, 1 fig, 1 tac, shore bombard 1 cc, 1 bb v 3 inf
    DiceRolls: 1@1 2@3 2@4; Total Hits: 51@1: (1)2@3: (3, 1)2@4: (4, 4)
    DiceRolls: 3@2; Total Hits: 23@2: (2, 1, 3)


  • Another post flagged as sp*m! I think it was because I put the link to a page - from this site! - which says that Sz64 connects…

    I’ll try to copy paste it in parts. First the combat move:

    UK 3

    Buy (12 UK Pacific):

    1 inf (3)
    1 art (4)
    1 AA (5)

    Combat:

    Irq: 1 inf (Ind, via tra Sz39), 1 fig, 1 tac (India); 1 cc (Sz76); 1 bb (Sz39)
    Eth: 1 tan (blitzes on the way to Eth)
    Sz56: 1 fig (W.Au), 1 dd


  • I rolled the dice and this is what came out… Quite surprising!

    @Pakitho:

    Irq
    1 inf, 1 fig, 1 tac, shore bombard 1 cc, 1 bb v 3 inf
    DiceRolls: 1@1 2@3 2@4; Total Hits: 51@1: (1)2@3: (3, 1)2@4: (4, 4)
    DiceRolls: 3@2; Total Hits: 23@2: (2, 1, 3)


  • @Pakitho:

    Irq
    1 inf, 1 fig, 1 tac, shore bombard 1 cc, 1 bb v 3 inf
    DiceRolls: 1@1 2@3 2@4; Total Hits: 51@1: (1)2@3: (3, 1)2@4: (4, 4)
    DiceRolls: 3@2; Total Hits: 23@2: (2, 1, 3)


  • Man… In short, all of my shots hit, but two of theirs also hit… inf and tac killed.

    Corrected the transport by the way, you’re right (tra then moves with the ac to Sz89, no tra in Sz10)

    Sz56
    1 dd, 1 fig v 1 sub, 1 dd
    DiceRolls: 1@2 1@3; Total Hits: 01@2: (6)1@3: (5)
    DiceRolls: 1@1 1@2; Total Hits: 21@1: (1)1@2: (1)


  • wow, it seems like this dice engine really has a heart for the little guys…


  • Ouch indeed…

    NCM

    N. Per: 1 fig (lands from Iraq)
    Ken: 2 inf (Con); 2 inf, 1 mec (Sud); 1 tan (Eth); 1 art (I.So)
    Ind: 1 inf (Bur)
    Bur: 7 inf (Sha)
    Sha: 1 inf (FIC)
    Yun: 1 AA
    Sz101: 2 cc, 1 bb, 2 inf, 1 art, 1 tan (boarding US tra)
    Sz89: 1 dd
    Sz79: 1 tran

    Build:

    Ind: 1 inf, 1 art, 1 AA

    Collect:

    12 (UK Pacific) + 1 (apparently I had 13 to spend, not 12, so I save 1)

    First Blood (US,China&UK3).AAM


  • ITALY 3:

    Buy (28 ):
    6 Inf (18 )
    1 Art (4)
    1 Tank (6)

    Combat move:

    to sz92: 1 Trn [loads 1 Inf (SFr)] (sz92); 1 Trn [loads 1 Inf (Egy)] (sz98)
    to Gib: 1 Inf (sz92)
    to Mor: 1 Inf (sz92)
    to sz94: 1 Crs, 2 Trn [load 3 Inf, 1 Tank (NIta)] (sz98)
    to Alg: 3 Inf, 1 Tank, 1 Crs (sz94); 1 Bmb (Tun)
    to Sudan: 1 Tank [blitz back to Egy] (Egy)
    to EPl: 1 Inf (Hun)
    to Bes: 1 Inf (Rom)

    Alg: 3 Inf, 1 Tank, 1 Crs, 1 Bmb vs 2 Inf
    DiceRolls: 3@1 2@3 1@4; Total Hits: 03@1: (2, 3, 3)2@3: (4, 5)1@4: (6)
    DiceRolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 02@2: (6, 5)


  • ok… at least you didn’t hit either. again!

    Alg: 3 Inf, 1 Tank, 1 Bmb vs 2 Inf
    DiceRolls: 3@1 1@3 1@4; Total Hits: 23@1: (4, 4, 5)1@3: (3)1@4: (2)
    DiceRolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 02@2: (3, 3)


  • arrivederci and au revoir, my french fellows. you were persistent enough. (there’s no shame in surrendering - all your friends did it already :evil:)

    Sorry that this took so long. I had a rule question and was searching the forum for an answer, but couldn’t find it. I posted the question in the forum now. The question is whether your AC counts as a “surface warship” in suppressing a sub in sz91 when it comes to the question whether your transports can initiate an amphibious assault or not. Given that the AC has an attack value of zero, I find it not evident that it does so. If the AC suppresses my sub, it goes to sz92. Otherwise, sz91 is the lucky winner and you would be pretty screwed  :evil:

    Non-combat move:

    Bmb (Alg) lands in SIta
    1 sub (sz88) -> sz91/sz92 (depending on answer to rule question)
    1 DD, 1 BB (sz98) -> sz92
    1 Inf, 2 AA (NIta) -> SFr
    2 AA (Hun) -> Yugo
    1 Inf, 1 Art (Bul); 1 Inf (Yugo) -> Rom
    1 Tank (Syr); 1 Mech (Egy); 1 Ftr (Alx) -> TrJ
    1 Inf (TrJ) -> Irq

    Build:
    6 Inf, 1 Art, 1 Tank (NIta)

    Collect: 22 + 17 = 39 IPC (yeah baby!)

    First Blood (Italy3).AAM


  • PS: I forgot to indicate the Japanese income. It’s 35 IPC.


  • Change of plan: If the AC would suppress the sub, it moves to sz85 instead.

    In any event, the fact that the US has no surface ships with attack value in the atlantic is going to come back to hurt you!  :evil:

Suggested Topics

  • 8
  • 5
  • 48
  • 45
  • 55
  • 99
  • 237
  • 316
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

20

Online

17.7k

Users

40.4k

Topics

1.8m

Posts