12L LL v JWW +8, -tech, +NO, Game 2


  • Japan turn 5

    Purchase

    60 IPC

    IC
    8 infantry
    2 fighters
    save 1 IPC

    Combat Moves

    SAF (infantry, artillery) v infantry, fighter (RHO), bomber (AUS)
    SUI (infantry) v 2 infantry (MAN), fighter (Z62)
    HUP (infantry) v infantry (YUN), infantry (KIA), fighter (Z62)
    TRJ (2 infantry) v 2 infantry, 2 tanks (IND), 3 fighters (EGY)
    PER (infantry) v 2 infantry (IND) walking, 3 fighters (IND), fighter (Z35)

    dice

    SAF
    A - infantry, fighter, bomber
    DiceRolls: 1@1 1@3 1@4; Total Hits: 11@1: (5)1@3: (1)1@4: (6)
    D - infantry, artillery
    DiceRolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 12@2: (5, 2)


  • SAF round 2
    A - infantry, bomber
    DiceRolls: 1@1 1@4; Total Hits: 11@1: (3)1@4: (3)
    D - artillery
    DiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 11@2: (2)


  • SAF taken with bomber, not controlled

    TRJ
    A - 2 infantry, 2 tanks, 3 fighters
    DiceRolls: 2@1 5@3; Total Hits: 22@1: (4, 4)5@3: (5, 1, 1, 5, 5)
    D - 2 infantry
    DiceRolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 12@2: (4, 1)


  • TRJ taken with infantry, 2 tanks, 3 fighters

    PER
    A - infantry, 4 fighters
    DiceRolls: 1@1 4@3; Total Hits: 41@1: (6)4@3: (2, 1, 1, 1)
    D - infantry
    DiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 11@2: (1)


  • PER taken with 4 fighters, not controlled

    HUP
    A - 2 infantry, fighter
    DiceRolls: 2@1 1@3; Total Hits: 02@1: (6, 5)1@3: (4)
    D - infantry
    DiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (6)


  • HUP round 2
    A - 2 infantry, fighter
    DiceRolls: 2@1 1@3; Total Hits: 12@1: (6, 5)1@3: (1)
    D - infantry
    DiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 11@2: (1)


  • Your boys are doing alright this round huh  :lol:

    HUP taken with infantry, fighter

    SUI
    A - 2 infantry, fighter
    DiceRolls: 2@1 1@3; Total Hits: 22@1: (1, 5)1@3: (3)
    D - infantry
    DiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (4)


  • SUI taken with 2 infantry, fighter

    Noncombat Moves

    fighter from HUP to YUN
    fighter from SUI to FUK
    infantry from FAR to BRY
    infantry from STC to BRY
    infantry from BRY to MAN
    2 infantry from JPN to KIA
    5 submarines, 2 destroyers, ac, cruiser, battleship from Z62 to Z50
    4 infantry from SUM to IND
    3 fighters from PER to BUR
    fighter from PER to Z35
    ac from Z35 to Z34
    fighter from POL to FRA
    fighter from POL to Z34
    fighter from TRJ to RHO
    fighter from TRJ to Z35
    fighter from TRJ to Z34
    transport from Z30 to Z38

    Mobilize

    4 infantry in SUM
    4 infantry, 2 fighters in JPN
    IC in BOR

    Income

    43 + 15 NO + 1 saved = 59

    LL vs. JWW 5cJ.AAM


  • UK 5 purchase 6 inf spend 18 (save 6)

    combat

    #1A sbr GER v bmb (cau)
    #1 nwe (inf, art) v 2inf (gbr) BB,& 4 fgt (2gbr 2z5)
    #2 bst (inf) v CA, inf (gbr) art (nwy) & 3 fgt ( 2 epl)


  • ger IC damageDiceRolling 1:
    (4)

    #1 NWE attackDiceRolls: 1@4 4@3 2@1; Total Hits: 61@4: (2)4@3: (2, 1, 2, 1)2@1: (2, 1)v inf, artDiceRolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 02@2: (5, 6)


  • german IC damage 4+2 = 6

    nwe twol

    #2 bst attackDiceRolls: 3@3 2@2; Total Hits: 03@3: (4, 4, 6)2@2: (3, 6)v infDiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 11@2: (1)


  • 2nd wave attackDiceRolls: 3@3 1@2; Total Hits: 03@3: (6, 5, 5)1@2: (6)v infDiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 01@2: (3)


  • DiceRolls: 3@3 1@2; Total Hits: 13@3: (5, 4, 2)1@2: (6)v infDiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 11@2: (2)


  • just realised my attack was done wrong. I only had 2 for 3 not 3 for 3. I will reroll

    DiceRolls: 2@3; Total Hits: 22@3: (3, 1)


  • ok so I hit but lost 2 units

    BS…lose inf & art

    ncm:
    z27 trn > z 25
    bmb > bul
    bst 2 fgt > bul
    kar arm > mos
    nwe fgt’s > z5
    eca arm > wca

    UK collects saved 6 + 21 = 27

    LL vs. JWW 5duk.AAM


  • Should you not just remove the last three rolled since you rolled one too many?  I guess that makes the most sense to me, and not just because it might benefit me.

    Cheers


  • In my opinion the infantry survived unless you wanted to continue the attack with 2 fighters.  Is there a clearly defined rule to cover cases like this?  I would not think that a “reroll” is proper but I could be wrong.

    Cheers


  • everything missed for me on the second round attack. You also missed on the 2nd round so we moved to round three. If I had hit on the 2nd round and mistakenly added a roll and you had hit in the 2nd roll I would have needed to reroll MY dice and then decide what to lose.

    Since you missed on rd 2 we moved to rd three.

    If you are arguing that your 2nd rd roll should not be counted for some reason that is not correct.


  • My roll should be counted in every round because the correct number of dice was rolled for me each round.  I am saying that if too many dice are rolled for a certain unit type, the roll should not be “rerolled” but instead the extra number of dice should just be removed from the roll, or something similar.  Here, you rolled too many threes in round 2 and round 3.  There should have been 2 for each round but you rolled 3 for each round.  In this case, should the third dice not just be removed since it should not have been rolled?

    So, in rounds 2 and 3, the first two threes rolled missed both times.  A similar process would be done if you had rolled one too few of the fighters.  If you had rolled only one when there were supposed to be 2, you would just roll an extra dice for the second fighter, not reroll for both fighters.

    I do not like the idea of rerolls. Clearly 2 of your 3 fighters missed in the third round.  If you reroll, then your fighters hit 2/2.  I do not think that is the way to do it.

    To show my point I will use an exaggeration that should make it clear.  If I had 30 tanks and I mistakenly rolled 31 dice and I hit you 3 times, would you be ok with me “rerolling” 30 dice?  I would think it is clear that one of the 31 should be removed not all dice rerolled.  If a person were willing to accept a reroll, then they should never be able to be hit more times than 3.  Here you went from hitting once to hitting twice.  Just because there was only one hit needed, it does not matter.  You went from hitting one in three (33%) to hitting 2/2 (100%).

    Do you see what I am saying?  Since only one hit could be made anyway, the most I would be willing to accept is to give you a 33% chance of hitting in the third round.  So if you want to roll 1@2 and you hit, I will give you credit for a hit in the third round with a fighter.  I hope you are able to understand my point, I am not trying to be a stickler about this, but I have to say what I think is right.

    Cheers


  • Yes I understand now. It does make sense. If I had failed to roll a dice I would simply roll +1 extra to catch up and since I rolled 1 extra over 2 rd’s you are arguing that 2 dice should be eliminated & you specify which dice IYO should be discarded. Either the last two, reading left to right, in rd 3 or last dice in rd 2 & 3.

    So basically you are saying that if I had hit on the die you consider “1st” in either round 2 or 3 then I should get credit for the “hit”? I am not sure how other players would react to this concept? hmmm….Isn’t the last dice shown on the right, reading left to right, the first dice rolled.  :-D, why not? anyways.

    The way I have, and others have, resolved this is to not assume which dice was the good or bad dice but to reroll. You correctly point out where this could be problematic in certain situations but this is how I have been resolving these issues here for the last 5+ years and pretty much without incident. I am sure others have used differing/agreeable methods but to answer an earlier question of yours there isn’t a standard, to my knowledge. Perhaps we should incorporate a standard? Would you be willing to draft a resolution that we/you can present to Darth M and the community?

    W/respect to this game I don’t care how you decide to resolve it. I trust your good intentions.  JWW

Suggested Topics

  • 25
  • 40
  • 87
  • 185
  • 83
  • 66
  • 970
  • 2.7k
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

30

Online

17.8k

Users

40.5k

Topics

1.8m

Posts