A lot of posters seemed stunned at this scenario, never scene it ever happen or even could happen. Now that I mulled it over last night and looked at the rules and so forth it is very obvious to me why no one has ever scene this scenario. Because the scenario makes no logical sense.
Italy DOW on Russia and moves in 2 tanks into Eastern Poland.
Russia is now at war with Italy and can DOW on Germany at the start of their next turn, turn 3.
Germany on Turn 3 does not DOW on Russia and just non combats into Eastern Poland.
Russia at the start of Turn 3 DOW on Germany and off we go.There is no logical reason why Russia would not DOW on Germany at the start of Turn 3, none.
Heck you could argue that it makes no logical sense that Germany did not DOW on Russia at the start of G3 since Italy brought Russia into the war and Russia WILL DOW on Germany on R3.
Hi PainState,
From my perspective, if I was planning on doing a G3 Barbarossa AND I wanted to drive towards the south, then yes, it makes sense to not DOW. My stack will be together except for the minimum required mobile units and maybe 1 AAA in Poland so Russia doesn’t attack Poland to get their NO for occupying an Axis territory. But E. Poland will be real strong because the German air will be there and maybe bombers will also be in range of a raid on the Moscow factory. Also, 5 IPCs is more income than I’d probably get as Germany on the 1st turn.
There are a few disadvantages of course. 1, Russian blockers can’t be attacked. 2, the Scandinavian units are behind. But for me that’s ok, I just use them to lay siege anyways. I never expect to get Moscow on turn 6 anymore. I assume that the UK/Anzac and that lone French fighter are going to get to Moscow.Â
DOW question(s)
-
UK moved its BB to SZ35. Japan DOW on UK only and attacks SZ35 - US fleet does not defend, nor can it scramble? Can US withdraw its ships on its turn?
UK moved its BB to SZ35. Japan DOW on UK and US (intention to take Philippines). Do both UK/US now defend together?
UK moved its BB to SZ35. Japan DOW on US only - UK BB does not defend in this situation? Can it withdraw on UK’s turn?
Anzac moved its ship from SZ63 to SZ26 (Hawaii). Japan DOW on UK and USA and attacks SZ26. Does Anzac ship defend?
Anzac flys Ftr to Celebes, but does not occupy it. Japan attacks Celebes. Does Anzac Ftr Defend?
-
1. Not sure about this one. The U.S. political situation allows them to declare war if UK is attacked by Japan, but I’m not sure if they can do this immediately or if they have to wait until their turn.
2. They would both defend together, yes.
3. The UK battleship would not defend as you have not declared war on UK. It would be able to withdraw on UK’s next turn.
4. ANZAC ships would defend because any declaration of war between Japan and UK automatically brings in ANZAC.
5. You would have to declare war on ANZAC to do this. You’re not allowed to place units in land territories occupied by a power you’re not at war with. You also must be at war with UK, and by extension ANZAC, to attack the Dutch territories.
-
1. The US can declare war on Japan at the START OF THEIR COMBAT MOVE PHASE if Japan makes a DOW on UK/ANZAC. So no, they wouldn’t defend.
2. Both defend.
3. UK BB doesn’t defend and can withdraw on its turn as if Japan built a unit there.
4. Yes, DOW’s on UK apply to ANZAC as well.
5. To attack the DEI, Japan would have to be at war with ANZAC/UK. That means the fighter would defend.
-
Agree with techroll
Note that for #3, if the UK does not declare war on Japan the battleship could stay in the zone (would not be hostile), but if Japan has declared war on the US, there is almost no reason for the UK not to declare war on Japan… So in 99% of cases I suppose the UK BB would need to move (if UK declared war on Japan since Japan DOW on USA)…