Here are the contradictory statements:
“Q. When attacked, can submarines submerge immediately or do they have to survive one round of fire from attackers?
A.They have to withstand at least one round of fire. Otherwise they would be practically indestructible.”
Source: A&A Europe FAQ at wizards.com
“Q. Can a defending submarine submerge before an attacking sub fires on it?
A. Yes. The decision whether to submerge is made before any dice are rolled, and the submerging subs
are removed from the battle immediately. Of course, if the attacker has a destroyer, the defending
sub may not submerge at all.”
Source: A&A Pacific 1940 FAQ at wizards.com
So the sub rules have changed between the original theater level games and the 1940 versions? Wow, seems like the 1940 subs are a way better unit: even if they defend on a 1 now they cost 2 IPC less and are apparently impossible to attack without a destroyer…
One last rules question I forgot to include here: is it possible to call off an amphibious assault in the 1940 rules? I know that you can retreat from a sea battle, but let’s say the following occurs: I win a naval battle and have a surviving transport and a couple cruisers left in a sea zone adjacent to the land territory I want to attack. I had already declared that I wanted to do an amphib. assault and had moved some land units into the enemy territory from a friendly adjacent one. Now (for whatever reason) I decide that I want to call off the attack. Because I won the naval battle and had already declared an amphib assault, am I now committed to carrying it out? If I must, can the land units that moved in from the adjacent territory retreat before doing any attack rolls?
I appreciate the feedback - I’m a huge rules stickler and this game seems to generate a lot of rules questions among my friends and me.