Jenn (Axis) vs Noll (Allies) - Alpha+3 - most recent rules (11/25/11) - no tech


  • ANZAC#8

    IPCs: 16

    Builds: 1bmb (12)
    Saves: 4

    Combat Moves:
    2inf SAU > WAU
    3dd sz54 > sz37 (1dd)
    DiceRolls: 3@2; Total Hits: 23@2: (5, 1, 2)
    DiceRolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 11@2: (2)

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    It’s my current position that the allies can stall but will be in a downward loop for the next 3 or 4 turns.  By then the situation could be radically different or the same in Europe.

    Why?

    America cannot land in Spain until they can secure Turkey from being liberated.  They can attack it with Russia, but that’s going to sap much needed Russian units from keeping the Germans and Italians out.  That means America has to land in Gibraltar.  If they do that then there is almost no hope of Italy or Germany taking Gibraltar and a virtual certainty that the naval base will be bombed by something. (Original plan was to make a tactical bomber on S. Italy this round, just so I could hit the Naval base and land on the carriers next to Gibraltar, but I forgot.)

    Meanwhile, with 13 transports in SZ 112, Russia HAS to consider the possibility of an invasion in the north, which limits what they can produce in the south.  With 2 Italian complexes going in or near Egypt, and no help from India, that’s a tough order to fill.  Sure AA Guns have been lousy all around, and that will probably change (though I’ve been under concerted SBR attack by EM on many occassions wondering if all the statistical formulas I had to memorize are actually valid or not…) there is no guarentee of it.  So even with the + 6 IPC Russia should be getting from the Pacific, they are losing 10 IPC in Russia on their complexes, assuming they repair them. (3 or 4 IPC die average + 2 so I rounded down to 5 each.)  Add to that they have no lost the ability to take mainland territories in Europe for their NOs and I think Russia is in the process of going down. (In my opinion, 5 Strategic Bombers for Russia is probably a big contributer to this.  But maybe it’s what is saving Russia from going over the brink.)

    The Japanese fleet is not yet crushed, and that’s a big thing really!  America is not “done” until that fleet is gone.  Right now it’s at least two turns until that happens since they will be able to once again block the American fleet.  If the Americans move to Okinawa or Iwo Jima they cannot block again, but can retreat and extend the chase for at least a little longer and that ties up resources and keeps them away from the Germans.

    So yes, as of right now, I think the game is going to turn into an Axis win, I think the only reason the last one failed is because I changed horses midstream and turned to attack the Americans instead of India, when this was corrected, the game shifted (in my mind) dramatically the other way.  Sure, America is still king of the Pacific, but it’s not king of the Atlantic as well, and India is not marching across the Middle East sands because there is no India.


  • sz37 cleared with loss of 1dd

    (damn I forgot to send 1dd vs the sz45 empty transport… I totally suck…)

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    I am going to lunch as soon as the United States Post Office brings me my check (so I can afford to go to lunch!)  I have to go to Best Buy afterwards and return a wireless keyboard/mouse. (I subsequently allowed my children to break the laptop I needed it for, thus ending my need for the new peripherals…crap I wish I could spell!)

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @Noll:

    sz37 cleared with loss of 1dd

    (damn I forgot to send 1dd vs the sz45 empty transport… I totally suck…)

    Yup.  Kiss Philippines good bye.  Nah, go ahead and kill the transport.  I did it to S. France in one of my games (maybe even this one) where I forgot to put the attack in writing but intended to do it.


  • then I have to reroll sz37 cause I can send there only 2 dds, I will take 1 as casuality round#1 cause you hitted.

    DiceRolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 12@2: (2, 4)

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @Noll:

    then I have to reroll sz37 cause I can send there only 2 dds, I will take 1 as casuality round#1 cause you hitted.

    That sounds fair.


  • IPCS: 4 saved + 12tt + 10 no = 26

    France does nothing.

    Russia #9

    IPCs: 59

    repairs 5 damages VOL
    repairs 5 damages SUKR

    builds 3arms (18)
    10inf (30)

    Saves: 6

    Combat Moves:

    2mec inf 3fig 2tac NOV > BAL (1arm)

    8arms 23mec NOV > BEL (1arm)
    5mec RUS > BEL

    11inf CAU > TURK (8inf)
    3arm VOL > TURK
    1bmb RUS > TURK
    4bmb NOV > TURK


  • 2mec inf 3fig 2tac NOV > BAL (1arm)
    DiceRolls: 2@1 3@3 2@4; Total Hits: 22@1: (5, 5)3@3: (4, 6, 3)2@4: (2, 5)
    DiceRolls: 1@3; Total Hits: 01@3: (5)

    8arms 23mec NOV > BEL (1arm)
    5mec RUS > BEL
    DiceRolls: 28@1 8@3; Total Hits: 628@1: (5, 6, 5, 5, 3, 1, 3, 6, 5, 3, 4, 4, 3, 2, 5, 4, 5, 6, 4, 2, 6, 4, 2, 5, 2, 6, 4, 5)8@3: (2, 3, 4, 1, 2, 2, 5, 4)
    DiceRolls: 1@3; Total Hits: 11@3: (3)

    11inf CAU > TURK (8inf)
    3arm VOL > TURK
    1bmb RUS > TURK
    4bmb NOV > TURK
    DiceRolls: 11@1 3@3 5@4; Total Hits: 911@1: (2, 4, 1, 4, 1, 4, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6)3@3: (2, 1, 1)5@4: (2, 4, 3, 6, 6)
    DiceRolls: 8@2; Total Hits: 38@2: (2, 4, 4, 3, 6, 2, 3, 2)


  • BAL twol
    BEL taken with loss of 1mec
    TURK taken with loss of 3inf

    1inf sz44 > CEL (walks in)

    4aa NOV > BEL

    the airforce lands in VOL

    3inf RUS > BRY
    9inf 2aa HUN > YUN
    1inf KWA > YUN


  • Collects:

    45 (tt) + 6 (no) +6 (saved) = 57



  • oh I didn’t mobilize……

    3arm VOL
    7inf RUS
    3inf SUKR

    01_Noll_v_Jennifer_Mark_II__08Brussia.AAM

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Where are you landing the Russian bombers…it’s not in Turkey!


  • Oh I forgot to land them then

    They all land in VOL

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Okay, I figured that, but I wanted to make sure you didnt want them in Caucasus or S. Ukraine first…probably a moot point.

    Now the question is, are those American bombers in Manchuria a trap?  I have 100% odds but it will take the Japanese out of SZ 6.  Then the Americans can go to SZ 6…they can’t take Japan, but they can erase income.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Letting you put that destroyer to kill my transport’s screwing me up now. lol

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Wait, never mind, it can’t can open for America…what was I thinking…

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Japan:

    Buy(36)

    • 3 Destroyers, Save 12

    Combat Moves:
    Destroyer, Fighter from SZ 6 to SZ 19
    Infantry, Artillery from Japan to Manchuria
    5 Fighters from SZ 6 to Manchuria
    3 Fighters, 5 Tactical Bombers, 2 Strategic Bombers from Japan to Manchuria (Korea is a valid landing zone)
    Infantry from Alaska to Soviet Far East
    Infantry from Aleutian Islands to Siberia

    SZ 19:
    Attacker:
    DiceRolls: 1@2 1@3; Total Hits: 11@2: (2)1@3: (6)
    Defender:
    DiceRolls: 1@3; Total Hits: 11@3: (1)

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Okay, going to need your feedback on this, unless I magically get 12 hits!

    Manchuria:
    Attacker:
    DiceRolls: 2@2 8@3 7@4; Total Hits: 82@2: (4, 4)8@3: (6, 6, 1, 6, 4, 5, 1, 3)7@4: (5, 1, 2, 4, 4, 5, 1)
    Defender:
    DiceRolls: 4@1 7@2 1@4; Total Hits: 44@1: (6, 6, 1, 6)7@2: (1, 3, 1, 6, 6, 1, 4)1@4: (5)

Suggested Topics

  • 78
  • 54
  • 68
  • 49
  • 53
  • 62
  • 679
  • 126
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

61

Online

17.6k

Users

40.2k

Topics

1.7m

Posts