This only works if there are only Italian aricraft scrambling. I usually use two fighters from the United Kingdom terirtory, and the fighter from Malta-the fighter from Girbraltar should be used along with the cruiser off of Girbraltar (it takes three submarines to have more than an 80% chance to kill it, my normal standard to win a battle, so the submarines are usually used for easier prey in the north, especially if Germany attacks the Soviet Union in the first turn, which will nessecitate one submarine in sea zone 125) to destroy the Italian navy off of Malta. If a German aircraft lands in Southern Italy, I usually will call of the attack, as there is a less than 80% chance to win. All of this assumes Germany invades the Soviet Union in the first turn.
Mixed rulings in alpha 2 and 3
-
alpha 2: Collect 5 IPCs per turn for EACH of the following territories, Novgorod (Leningrad), Volgograd (Stalingrad), and/or Russia (Moscow) controlled by the Axis. Theme: High strategic and propaganda value.
alpha 3: 5 IPCs per territory if Germany controls Novgorod (Leningrad), Volgograd (Stalingrad), and/or Russia (Moscow). Theme: High strategic and propaganda value.
nothing was marked in red or green showing that there were no changes from 2 to 3. but there are. did he just type it too quickly and we follow alpha 3 or we have to pick out the new hidden stuff in the poorly worded alpha 3?
if so would this apply to all the hidden changes in alpha 3?
-
Well, it is different wording, but the rule is the same, isn’t it?
-
Not quite. In Alpha+3, it says that Germany has to control those territories to collect the $5 NO. In Alpha+2, it only says Axis control so technically Italy or Japan could control those territories and Germany would still get the $5 NO for them.
So Keodis, if you want to use the Alpha+3 rules, then Germany has to control those territories.
-
The part that I don’t get is those changes are not hilighted in red or green in the alpa 3 forum on Larry’s site. Can it be because he retyed alpha 3 rather than change alpha 2 ( you can tell because alpha 3 is worded differenly ) he accidentally changed the NO and its still the same as alpha 2 because it isn’t marked in red/green.
I really don’t want to look for non highlighted rules looking change
-
That change was intentional. It was not highlighted as it should have been. Sorry for any inconvenience.