G40 Tourney Discussion/question(s)

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @i:

    Damn it since I didn’t pit a bid in does this mean I’m out? I was busy with school and I forgot to PM you with my bid  :-( .

    You and another guy came back.

    Zcion.  PM him and see if he still wants in on the tournament.  If yes, you two can be matched.


  • K I’ll pm him after school.
    What do I have to do for a bid? Just send you a number ie 15?

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @i:

    K I’ll pm him after school.
    What do I have to do for a bid? Just send you a number ie 15?

    Yes.  Both of you can send me a new bid if you like.  Just say" I Rock vs Tzion, 15 bid, +5 Infantry to Hainan" or whatever.  Same goes for Tzion.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    BTW, please post your end game here or PM it to me, so I can keep the threads up.

    1 week without a single complaint or issue!  AWESOME!  Thanks guys and remember to have fun!

  • '17

    I have conceded game 3 to ksmckay (sorry again, it didn’t get a chance to go further).

    Please offer him your congratulations and goodluck to all for the remainder of the tourney  :-D

    G01_ksmckay_wheatbeer_05Ag.AAM

  • '22 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Supposition:

    If you move fighters into a far flung combat and declare that they will land on existing carrier in its non-combat move, but the carrier must move though another combat zone which the attacker loses and is still hostile on the carriers non-combat move, then, if I read the rule right, the carrier must still be move and be destroyed.  See p. 27, Europe 40 Rule.

    Do I have this right?

    Thanks

    Karl


  • @Karl7:

    Supposition:

    If you move fighters into a far flung combat and declare that they will land on existing carrier in its non-combat move, but the carrier must move though another combat zone which the attacker loses and is still hostile on the carriers non-combat move, then, if I read the rule right, the carrier must still be move and be destroyed.  See p. 27, Europe 40 Rule.

    Do I have this right?

    No. The carrier can be move with any legal move you want. If the fighter doesn’t have another way to land, it will be lost during non combat move.

    You have to have a legal “non-combat” move planned for every plane, you cannot send away suicidal planes. But during non combat move you are not committed to those plans. You can change your mind and make any other (legal) non combat moves you see it fit better. Another example of this, you can loose the Carrier during the combat and any left over planes that can’t land aftger battle will be lost…

    In clear, you are allowed to take AC first in order to continu battle with better dices… even knowing planes will be lost anyway if they lack of landing option.


  • @Karl7:

    Supposition:

    If you move fighters into a far flung combat and declare that they will land on existing carrier in its non-combat move, but the carrier must move though another combat zone which the attacker loses and is still hostile on the carriers non-combat move, then, if I read the rule right, the carrier must still be move and be destroyed.  See p. 27, Europe 40 Rule.

    Do I have this right?

    Thanks

    Karl

    Carriers are never destroyed during non-combat moves.

    A carrier must move to where it has to in order to land planes that were launched with it as an intended landing site, you may not move the carrier elsewhere on a whim and crash the planes.

    However, if you fail to clear the required sea zone and your carrier is unable to reach its intended landing site, the fighters crash, and then the carrier may move elsewhere if I understand the rules.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @Karl7:

    Supposition:

    If you move fighters into a far flung combat and declare that they will land on existing carrier in its non-combat move, but the carrier must move though another combat zone which the attacker loses and is still hostile on the carriers non-combat move, then, if I read the rule right, the carrier must still be move and be destroyed.  See p. 27, Europe 40 Rule.

    Do I have this right?

    Thanks

    Karl

    The last two answers are correct, I am only responding to give official response for the tournament specifically.

    As long as you attack the sea zone that must be traversed to recover the fighters, you may assume you will win and declare that the carrier is moving during Non-Combat Moves to recover the fighters.  It could be 1 submarine vs 3 loaded carriers, 8 destroyer, 1 battleship and 2 cruisers, and you could still assume you win. (There is a mathematical chance, albeit a very slim one.)

    Since no combat is done during Non-Combat, if you lose, you are barred from moving the carrier to recover your fighters and the fighters are lost.  You are then free to move the carrier(s) wherever you like, or nowhere if you prefer.


  • Also you cannot use a planned retreat as a valid landing space for aircraft. Just so you know.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @TheDefinitiveS:

    Also you cannot use a planned retreat as a valid landing space for aircraft. Just so you know.

    Aircraft dont retreat, they disengage and finish their movement during Non-Combat Movement.


  • Sigh……planned retreat as a valid landing space, as in you cant CM an Aircraft carrier then retreat it so Aircraft have somewhere to land.


  • Zcion has agreed to start up jenifer.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Zcion, i rock = Game 6, Zcion has Axis.


  • I have a question.  I am reading the rules and just covered China.  Is China still run at the same time as the US so that if one takes a territory, the other cannot land aircraft there, and the combat moves can be done in whichever order the allied player desires, or are they run completely separately now and the USA has to move before China?


  • Us does full move purchase deploy yadda yadda and then china does its move. So china can land planes wherever the us conquered. They are completely separate.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @TerrorBane:

    Us does full move purchase deploy yadda yadda and then china does its move. So china can land planes wherever the us conquered. They are completely separate.

    Correct.  In global 1940 America does their whole turn up to and including collect income, then China starts their turn as a sovereign nation.  Just as England could land fighters on territories taken by the Americans, so too can the Chinese fighter land on soil taken by America.

  • 2007 AAR League

    I guess it would be more like land cleared by the USA for China as China’s 1 plane is limited to only certain territories  :-D

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @NoMercy:

    I guess it would be more like land cleared by the USA for China as China’s 1 plane is limited to only certain territories  :-D

    All of China + Burma and Hong Kong yes.


  • Karl7 wins Game 4.

    Map.

    TDS_vs_Karl7_17bRus.AAM

Suggested Topics

  • 62
  • 5
  • 59
  • 70
  • 98
  • 126
  • 43
  • 124
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

63

Online

17.9k

Users

40.6k

Topics

1.8m

Posts