G40 Tourney Discussion/question(s)


  • What happens if you have not placed units, or incorrectly placed them ?

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Missing unit placements will be treated as per the rules for over-building. (If all you have is a major complex but buy 11 units, you over built) and you get a refund to use next turn.  Note, this is only a situation if you start your next country’s turn!  So check your maps!

    As for the gentleman aspect, this is a tournament.  However, if you dont want to get into a rule’s lawyer situation with your opponent, you might want to warn him of a mistake if it is minor (USA forgetting to place on USA 1, etc.)  It’s always preferable to be friendly.

    Situation I am worried about is when England screws up a placement, Italy acts in response to the situation they think is accurate, France goes (you HAVE to wait for France, don’t forget!) and Germany goes assuming England’s correct only to have the player say “Oh, I forgot to build a fighter” that changes things drastically.

    This only applies to your next turn after your opponent.  America’s mistakes are not permanent because China goes, etc.


  • Well, if I state in my thread where I mobilize guys but my map does not reflect, which is binding?

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @souL:

    Well, if I state in my thread where I mobilize guys but my map does not reflect, which is binding?

    Text is binding.  Why?  It’s easier on me, I dont have to download the map to make a ruling.

  • Customizer

    This only applies to your next turn after your opponent.  America’s mistakes are not permanent because China goes, etc.

    So changes by US could be done on Anzacs turn?

  • '10

    @Cmdr:

    This only applies to your next turn after your opponent.  America’s mistakes are not permanent because China goes, etc.

    Of course, it’s just my opinion, but i think this is a mistake. I think in a tournament, unless both player have an agreement, one should stick to what he has posted during his turn.

    If not, how, for exemple, are you going to deal with this situation :

    Pacific theater: a Japanese dd must be destroyed and replaced by an Allied dd. This is very important.

    Now, US could decide to leave this job to Anzac who just has 1dd, and 1 fgt to get the job done. Dices are rolled, and bad luck : the Japanese dd has killed the fgt AND the Anzac dd. Now, with what you say, US could say: oh, i forgot some NCM and send some dds do the job.
    So there will always be situations where a creative player could take advantage of this…


  • @Axisplaya:

    @Cmdr:

    This only applies to your next turn after your opponent.  America’s mistakes are not permanent because China goes, etc.

    Of course, it’s just my opinion, but i think this is a mistake. I think in a tournament, unless both player have an agreement, one should stick to what he has posted during his turn.

    If not, how, for exemple, are you going to deal with this situation :

    Pacific theater: a Japanese dd must be destroyed and replaced by an Allied dd. This is very important.

    Now, US could decide to leave this job to Anzac who just has 1dd, and 1 fgt to get the job done. Dices are rolled, and bad luck : the Japanese dd has killed the fgt AND the Anzac dd. Now, with what you say, US could say: oh, i forgot some NCM and send some dds do the job.
    So there will always be situations where a creative player could take advantage of this…

    I would think, for integrity’s sake, that any time dice are rolled in a territory or sea zone, anything that was SUPPOSED to occur in said area prior to rolling can no longer occur.  It just makes sense.

  • Customizer

    I also assume that CMs cannot be changed, but I do wonder about the NCMs and builds?  If US, China or UK can change their NCMs or builds during ANZACs turn, then does that extend to Italy fixing an NCM or build during Germany’s turn?

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    I’m referring to final maps here.

    If XYZ posts that he is placing a destroyer in SZ 101 and puts it in SZ 10, and does not clarify which is correct before starting France, then the destroyer stays in SZ 101.

    Likewise, if he posts a map that has America with 92 IPC and he is only allowed to have 72 IPC, then if his opponent catches it, it is reduced to 72 IPC.  However, if he was allowed to collect 34 IPC with Italy and forgets to update his money to reflect that, instead leaving it 28 IPC, then I do not feel it is fair to up it to 34 on Italy’s next turn, rather, it’s more fair that if he starts Germany’s turn and does not point out the inconsistency, then it stays 28 IPC.


  • As long as everything is typed up  then you have no excuse for not double checking I guess. What is the importance of an updated map if everything that is meant to be done is typed up anyway. Sure I didnt update my IPCs but then I did type I was collecting the correct amount. I spose every situation will be different and moderators will have final say.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    An updated map is much nicer than moving the pieces and trying to follow where everything is comming from and going too, etc, etc.  You can feel free to do that if you wish, but many of us want a map.

    The point of the rule is so I can point back to it and say “That’s what the rule was” and not have to negotiate decisions.  I’d much rather you two work it out and come up with your own solution so DM and I do not have to make a ruling. If we do have to make a ruling, I’d like people to have an idea of what that ruling is going to be before deciding to ask for one.


  • So it sounds like what is typed is what is done, and the map will be updated to match the text?

    If you forget to modify the IPCs, but you typed how much you collected, you get what you typed?

    If you forget to type a move, then the map showing the move is ignored, right?

    If you buy more then you can place (forgetting to repair damage, etc) then the unit is not placed, and the money is added to your collected income when the mistake is caught?

    If you attack a country but forget to type “Dow” can the DOW be assumed?

    What happens if you are typing your combat moves, and accidentally post it before you are finished (and it is clear that you were mid sentence, not just saying oh, now that I see what happened)? Can you continue the post? Can you redo the turn, permitting the enemy to choose the better of his two outcomes and the worst of your two outcomes for the posted section?

    Speaking of combats, I guess it is safer to type the moves out first, before typing any dice commands, that way intentions are clear and it would be fair to continue the none typed out dice commands.

    Should we resolve each battle, one at a time before proceeding, or is it customary to do round 1 for all battles, then round 2 for all remaining, etc, etc.?

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @JamesAleman:

    So it sounds like what is typed is what is done, and the map will be updated to match the text?
    If you have to call me for a ruling, then what is typed takes precedence.  I just have to make a determination and there’s only two choices, map or text, since text requires more thought process to perform (in my opinion) then I will assume that the map is a mistake and the text is what you really wanted to do.

    If you forget to modify the IPCs, but you typed how much you collected, you get what you typed?
    You will get the lowest number of IPC whether that is text or map.  Since it is your responsibility to check your money, then I cannot penalize your opponent for the incorrect value.  It does not seem fair to me.

    If you forget to type a move, then the map showing the move is ignored, right?
    Correct.  If I have to be called in, then I will assume what you typed is what you wanted and anything that does not match on the map is a mistake.

    If you buy more then you can place (forgetting to repair damage, etc) then the unit is not placed, and the money is added to your collected income when the mistake is caught?
    If you purchase more than you can place, the rule is (according to the manuals) any units you cannot place are returned to your tray and their value is added to your funds.  If you mistakenly place too many units at a complex, I will have the money refunded.

    If you attack a country but forget to type “Dow” can the DOW be assumed?
    Yes.  Attacking someone’s military is assumed to be an act of war.

    What happens if you are typing your combat moves, and accidentally post it before you are finished (and it is clear that you were mid sentence, not just saying oh, now that I see what happened)? Can you continue the post? Can you redo the turn, permitting the enemy to choose the better of his two outcomes and the worst of your two outcomes for the posted section?
    You may keep typing combat moves until you throw dice, Just as if you were standing at a table playing the game.

    Speaking of combats, I guess it is safer to type the moves out first, before typing any dice commands, that way intentions are clear and it would be fair to continue the none typed out dice commands.
    Correct.  Once you roll dice, your combat move phase is over and you are in the conduct combat phase.

    Should we resolve each battle, one at a time before proceeding, or is it customary to do round 1 for all battles, then round 2 for all remaining, etc, etc.?
    I am requesting you roll one combat at a time and complete before you start the next.  There are instances where you might change your mind about continuing a fight based on what happens in another and I would like to avoid that if possible.


  • When do we find out which bids have won……or lost depending on which team you wanted.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @TheDefinitiveS:

    When do we find out which bids have won……or lost depending on which team you wanted.

    Official start day is tomorrow, so either tomorrow or when I receive both bids.  I will update the Tournament results thread accordingly.  So far I have 9 of 32 bids (10 if you count myself and I am not sure if DM has received my opponent’s bid yet.)


  • Ha damn timezones….start day is today for me. Meh.


  • Can you send confirmations to us after you’ve received our bid? I’ve tried sending mine twice but when I check the outbox nothing is there… So I’m not sure if its being sent

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    Terror, I got yours, but I only got it once.

    Everyone else, in Alpha 2 (different in Alpha 3) AAGuns cost 6 IPC, not 5 IPC.  For any bids which involved AA Guns I have updated accordingly.

    Today is the official start day.  I’ll update the results thread to display the winner of the bid, if I have received both bids.


  • From the Alpha +.2 page:

    10. The cost of AA guns will be adjusted down from 6 IPCs to 5 IPCs.

  • '18 '17 '16 '11 Moderator

    @anchovy:

    From the Alpha +.2 page:

    10. The cost of AA guns will be adjusted down from 6 IPCs to 5 IPCs.

    You are correct, my I am wrong. (You better quote this, you may never see or hear a woman admit to being wrong again).  I will make the necessary adjustments.

Suggested Topics

  • 61
  • 165
  • 5
  • 70
  • 89
  • 98
  • 126
  • 43
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

62

Online

17.8k

Users

40.6k

Topics

1.8m

Posts