Jercules (Axis) vs. BigBadBruce (Allies)
-
-
Obviously I mean sz98: Can I retreat the whole navy after a single sneak shot?
Thanks for the kind words, this has been a memorable game. I would love to have an immediate rematch, you’ve certainly proved to be someone I can’t take lightly (after all, you know the rules!)
-
Not sure what you mean. A full round of battle most occur before you choose to retreat.
A. You can’t sneak fire and withdraw right after. Other attackers and defenders have to roll.
B. After a full round must occur : Sneak, remove casualties, attacker fires, assigne hits, defender fires, assign hits, remove casualties… and then, the attacker choose to withdraw or carry one with another round.Furthermore, say you didn’t have a DD, I must state before attacker rolls if my sub submerge or not. So, for instance, my sub survives first round and your DD don’t, at start of 2nd round (taking you choose to continu), I can submerge my sub.
-
I assign the sneak hit on AC.
-
Alright, simplifies things a bit then.
Rolls: 1@2 1@3; Total Hits: 21@2: (1)1@3: (2)
Rolls: 1@1 1@2 2@4; Total Hits: 31@1: (5)1@2: (2)2@4: (4, 3)
-
So the seazone is cleared, and I’ll assume you land the planes in Cairo.
-
So the seazone is cleared, and I’ll assume you land the planes in Cairo.
True, I save both planes. But I cause 3 hits and you have 4. So in other the battle to stop it’s either because :
1. You save the sub. Since Planes and sub can’t hit either other, my planes land and you Sub stay in z98
2. You save a crippled BB (or DD for that matter). Since I still have units, you choose to retreat.
3. You go on with a 2nd round of battle.But you can’t have a crippled BB or a DD in sz98 after this first round.
-
So you get three hits, 2 by planes. Planes can’t hit subs, but the carrier could, and the carrier got a hit. But in such a scenario I would choose to submerge… then again, do I even need to? I could allocate the carrier hit to my dd, and one of the planes hits to my cruiser, making the 2nd fighter hit useless. All that is left are planes and subs, so my subs resumes attacking to sink the transport, and in the end there is nothing left in sz98 but the sub. Have I got that right?
NC
-2 inf., 1 art., 1 aa to ParisPLACEMENTS
-1 dd, 1 sub in sz97COLLECTS
13 + 5 = 18 IPCs -
G13 - 83 IPCs
PURCHASES
-3 bombers (36)
-4 transports (28)
-1 ac (16)
-1 inf. (3)COMBAT
-3 art. vs. Scotland
-1 inf., 1 art., 2 or 3 bombers… vs. RostovScotland
Rolls: 3@2; Total Hits: 23@2: (2, 1, 5)
Rolls: 2@2; Total Hits: 12@2: (5, 1)
-
2 German art. take Scotland.
ROSTOV
Rolls: 2@2 2@4; Total Hits: 02@2: (6, 3)2@4: (5, 5)
Rolls: 1@2 1@3; Total Hits: 11@2: (4)1@3: (2)
-
Alright, I’ll stop there. One more bomber fires in Rostov IF I am correct that that UK transport is sunk.
If it is not, I must use that bomber to sink it, and this battle continues.
-
BTW, forgotten battle: WG tank takes Denmark.
Forgotten Italian NC: SI aa to NI -
Actually, sorry, nvrmd the Italian NC. I’m losing my mind with this game.
-
So you get three hits, 2 by planes. Planes can’t hit subs, but the carrier could, and the carrier got a hit. But in such a scenario I would choose to submerge… then again, do I even need to? I could allocate the carrier hit to my dd, and one of the planes hits to my cruiser, making the 2nd fighter hit useless. All that is left are planes and subs, so my subs resumes attacking to sink the transport, and in the end there is nothing left in sz98 but the sub. Have I got that right?
So, it ends up with option 1 of my post, so yep it’s ok.
-
Alright, I’ll stop there. One more bomber fires in Rostov IF I am correct that that UK transport is sunk.
If it is not, I must use that bomber to sink it, and this battle continues.
Not sure what you mean… but you certainly got the worst luck possible in that first round.
I guess you mean the Russian Transport in z100… it’s not UK, it’s Russian. So not really a threat. If you want to assign a Bomber to sink it, it’s an auto win. If not (and quite frankly I don’t see the need to sink it), then yes you have 1 more bomber to shoot at Rostov. -
Yes, I was worried that UK transport was not sunk, in which case I’d have to sink it. I started rolling Rostov anyway because maybe the job could be done regardless. Anyway, thanks again, let me get this turn done finally.
ROSTOV
Rolls: 1@4; Total Hits: 11@4: (4)
-
ROSTOV
Rolls: 1@2 3@4; Total Hits: 31@2: (1)3@4: (2, 3, 6)
Rolls: 1@2; Total Hits: 11@2: (1)
-
Rostov cleared but not conquered.
-
Your defense was actually a 3 there, sorry about that. Hits anyway.
NC
-bombers land in SU
-1 inf. from France to NI
-2 f. from Leningrad to sz97
-all mobile Moscow units to SU
-non-mobile Moscow units to Tambov
-Vol tanks to Bryansk
-Vyborg units to Leningrad
-1 aa from WG to NI
-2 tanks from WG to YugoPLACEMENTS
-all naval units in sz97
-bombers in SU
-1 inf. in YugoCOLLECTS
55 - 2 + 15 = 68 IPCs -
Japan 13 - 15 IPCs
PURCHASES
-2 tanks, 1 inf.COMBAT
-noneNC
-dd from sz80 to sz39 (don’t forget the convoy block)PLACEMENTS
-StalingradCOLLECTS
10 - 8 = 2 IPCS (lol)Alright, FINALLY, you can get going. And don’t worry, I’m starting to think you’re right, this game is worth playing much longer.