A lot of posters seemed stunned at this scenario, never scene it ever happen or even could happen. Now that I mulled it over last night and looked at the rules and so forth it is very obvious to me why no one has ever scene this scenario. Because the scenario makes no logical sense.
Italy DOW on Russia and moves in 2 tanks into Eastern Poland.
Russia is now at war with Italy and can DOW on Germany at the start of their next turn, turn 3.
Germany on Turn 3 does not DOW on Russia and just non combats into Eastern Poland.
Russia at the start of Turn 3 DOW on Germany and off we go.There is no logical reason why Russia would not DOW on Germany at the start of Turn 3, none.
Heck you could argue that it makes no logical sense that Germany did not DOW on Russia at the start of G3 since Italy brought Russia into the war and Russia WILL DOW on Germany on R3.
Hi PainState,
From my perspective, if I was planning on doing a G3 Barbarossa AND I wanted to drive towards the south, then yes, it makes sense to not DOW. My stack will be together except for the minimum required mobile units and maybe 1 AAA in Poland so Russia doesn’t attack Poland to get their NO for occupying an Axis territory. But E. Poland will be real strong because the German air will be there and maybe bombers will also be in range of a raid on the Moscow factory. Also, 5 IPCs is more income than I’d probably get as Germany on the 1st turn.
There are a few disadvantages of course. 1, Russian blockers can’t be attacked. 2, the Scandinavian units are behind. But for me that’s ok, I just use them to lay siege anyways. I never expect to get Moscow on turn 6 anymore. I assume that the UK/Anzac and that lone French fighter are going to get to Moscow.Â
AAG40+.2 Clarifications
-
-
The National Objectives qualify several bonuses if Italy, France, and Germany are at war (for Germany, “with the European Allies”), when I thought they started at that state. Is there a case when they wouldn’t be (and the game wouldn’t be over)?
-
Does “When Japan is at War with the Western Allies” mean UK, ANZAC or US, or all three at once (UK, ANZAC, and US)?
-
Does the new rule on Submaries mean that Submarines can not attack a transport by itself? Or, is this rule there because players submersed thier Subs when attacking in a naval battle, and when they lost and only transports remained, declared the submersed Subs sunk the transports?
-
It appears that the rules for repairing Strategic Bombing damage (Damage Repairs…) and the subsequent notes on ICs and bases did not change. Is that true?
Thanks
-
-
-
No.
-
Any of them will do (including France).
-
It modifies the rule on page 30 of the Europe Rulebook that allows subs to shoot at enemy transports as they move by. It changes nothing about how subs behave in combat.
-
They have not changed from Alpha+.1.
-





