Yes, it does not matter which territory the troops on the transport are invading. The amphibious assault is in the sea zone adjacent to a territory with an airbase, which is all that is required.
Marsh
Russia is not at war.
Do their subs get the +1 movement bonus from U.K. naval ports?
No. See page 15 of the E40 rulebook. Look in the blue box under Movement
What good is the E40 Rulebook? There are already dozens if not hundreds of significant but not yet official changes.
A s s wipe? Or maybe firestarter?
That part has not been changed yes.
The original rulebook isn’t useless. The base rules still apply in every situation except where modified by the current alpha.
Very confusing