A lot of posters seemed stunned at this scenario, never scene it ever happen or even could happen. Now that I mulled it over last night and looked at the rules and so forth it is very obvious to me why no one has ever scene this scenario. Because the scenario makes no logical sense.
Italy DOW on Russia and moves in 2 tanks into Eastern Poland.
Russia is now at war with Italy and can DOW on Germany at the start of their next turn, turn 3.
Germany on Turn 3 does not DOW on Russia and just non combats into Eastern Poland.
Russia at the start of Turn 3 DOW on Germany and off we go.There is no logical reason why Russia would not DOW on Germany at the start of Turn 3, none.
Heck you could argue that it makes no logical sense that Germany did not DOW on Russia at the start of G3 since Italy brought Russia into the war and Russia WILL DOW on Germany on R3.
Hi PainState,
From my perspective, if I was planning on doing a G3 Barbarossa AND I wanted to drive towards the south, then yes, it makes sense to not DOW. My stack will be together except for the minimum required mobile units and maybe 1 AAA in Poland so Russia doesn’t attack Poland to get their NO for occupying an Axis territory. But E. Poland will be real strong because the German air will be there and maybe bombers will also be in range of a raid on the Moscow factory. Also, 5 IPCs is more income than I’d probably get as Germany on the 1st turn.
There are a few disadvantages of course. 1, Russian blockers can’t be attacked. 2, the Scandinavian units are behind. But for me that’s ok, I just use them to lay siege anyways. I never expect to get Moscow on turn 6 anymore. I assume that the UK/Anzac and that lone French fighter are going to get to Moscow.Â
Kamikaze Rule Clarification
-
So, I generally don’t use kamikazes, for the sole reason of not really understanding the rules behind them. I understand using them in the same way one would scramble. However, I still have a few questions:
1. Say I use 3 kamikazes in the Philippines, attacking 3 cruisers. Do they get the chance to strike down the kamikazes before they hit? Or do the kamikazes either hit or miss?
2. If an air craft carrier gets hit by a kamikaze, can it’s planes still participate in the land combat? Or are they stuck on the carrier?Thanks in advance!
-
Evening Kurt.
1. A Kamikaze strike hits on a 1 and 2. The target has no defence. It is hit or miss, as you put it.2. Any Air units still get to fight in the battle in which they were allocated.
If a Carrier has been sunk by a Kamikaze(just like any other battle) it can no longer land planes.
This could mean the planes are forced to crash into the sea after the allocated battle, whether naval or land, if they do not have sufficient movement left to land elsewhere. -
Wanted to be sure you understood that Kamikaze is a defensive move by Japan and can only take place in the Combat Move of an enemy’s turn.
If the US/UK/Anzac move into a Kamikaze SZ in Non Combat then Japan cannot use a Kamikaze strike.
-
Any time a surface war ship goes into an area that has the Kami symbol in it and there are still Kamis left then the Jap player can choose to use them or not, so it can happen in a noncom move
Transports ans subs cant be taken as targets -
@suprise:
Any time a surface war ship goes into an area that has the Kami symbol in it and there are still Kamis left then the ��� player can choose to use them or not, so it can happen in a noncom move
Transports ans subs cant be taken as targetsFrom 2nd edition rules:
Phase 2: Combat Move
“If an allied player attacks Japanese units in or declares an amphibious assault from one of these sea zones [the ones with the kamikaze symbol], the Japanese player can announce at the beginning of this phase [Combat Move] that he or she intends to launch one or more (…)”.So no Kamikazes in the NCM allowed unless there are rules errata that I am not aware of ;-)
-
Thanks for the answers,
wittman: yes i understand that it’s a defensive move, not offensive. -
First let me say sorry, Its Japanese
You are correct ItIsILeClerc, I miss read Krieg"s answer to my Kamikazi Question.
You’ll see my post in the one “heres a question”
Thanks again
S.A.
p.s. Just dont forget to use them