A lot of posters seemed stunned at this scenario, never scene it ever happen or even could happen. Now that I mulled it over last night and looked at the rules and so forth it is very obvious to me why no one has ever scene this scenario. Because the scenario makes no logical sense.
Italy DOW on Russia and moves in 2 tanks into Eastern Poland.
Russia is now at war with Italy and can DOW on Germany at the start of their next turn, turn 3.
Germany on Turn 3 does not DOW on Russia and just non combats into Eastern Poland.
Russia at the start of Turn 3 DOW on Germany and off we go.There is no logical reason why Russia would not DOW on Germany at the start of Turn 3, none.
Heck you could argue that it makes no logical sense that Germany did not DOW on Russia at the start of G3 since Italy brought Russia into the war and Russia WILL DOW on Germany on R3.
Hi PainState,
From my perspective, if I was planning on doing a G3 Barbarossa AND I wanted to drive towards the south, then yes, it makes sense to not DOW. My stack will be together except for the minimum required mobile units and maybe 1 AAA in Poland so Russia doesn’t attack Poland to get their NO for occupying an Axis territory. But E. Poland will be real strong because the German air will be there and maybe bombers will also be in range of a raid on the Moscow factory. Also, 5 IPCs is more income than I’d probably get as Germany on the 1st turn.
There are a few disadvantages of course. 1, Russian blockers can’t be attacked. 2, the Scandinavian units are behind. But for me that’s ok, I just use them to lay siege anyways. I never expect to get Moscow on turn 6 anymore. I assume that the UK/Anzac and that lone French fighter are going to get to Moscow.Â
USA KICKS EVERYONE'S ASS!
-
To me if the US has an operation they can do what they want. Like say on a turn 4 or something liberation of the UK.
Build with about 80 to 82 IPCS (depending on Philippines loss.)
4 Infantry, 4 Tanks, 4 Transports, 2 Destroyers.
Just try to stay near Canada avoiding German subs.
-
hmmmm while I agree that the US will be able to do about any single operation they want I think the tough choices will be when the US has to do more than one operation. I think it will be a question of priorities.
-
8 land units is enough to retake the UK the turn right after Germany takes it. Figure you get out of there with only 4 or even 6 survivors and Germany just retakes it with Sealion2. Not a big money maker landing 30 points on units in the UK so steal 30IPC of theirs but it does keep England from collecting that money and slows down the Americans.
Germany could always 10 infantry in the UK the turn after they take it and scatter some destroyers in the North Atlantic to slow up them inbound Americans if possible.
At some point you’ve spent 30 bucks and wasted some naval units to hold the UK, but it does slow up the Americans again presumably allowing the Japanese to make more progress westward across Asia.
-
Germany could always 10 infantry in the UK the turn after they take it and scatter some destroyers in the North Atlantic to slow up them inbound Americans if possible.
When you take over a major factory it becomes a minor, so you can only build 3 units on the first turn after you capture it.
-
drat, forgot about that. Thank goodness it hasn’t come up yet in our games.
Need chapter and verse designations in the rule book!
-
Its in the back of the Europe Rule book under Global rules. I think its on the second page of the global rules under additional rules.
-
Unless you upgrade the factory from minor to major the following turn in which case you can build 6 units.
-
Unless you upgrade the factory from minor to major the following turn in which case you can build 6 units.
You can’t build 6 units
-
dont major IC’s make 10 units a turn. I thought that rule about IC’s being limited to the IPC value of the territory they are in didnt apply in this game.
-
Unless you upgrade the factory from minor to major the following turn in which case you can build 6 units.
You can’t build 6 units
In the same turn you upgrade a Minor IC to a Major IC you can only place 3 units. Next turn you can place 10.
-
LOL buy 6 SBmrs and 1 Fig a round as the US… Atlantic secured!





