The game rules regarding submarines not making a sea zone hostile do not seem to reflect the realities of what submarines did in WW II. The Allies developed anti-submarine forces and the convoy system to fight the German submarine threat in the Atlantic theater and were, after a time, able to virtually eliminate the submarine threat from this “hostile sea zone”. On the other hand, the Japanese never bothered with anti-submarine forces or the convoy system and, by the end of the war, Allied submarines had essentially run out of targets to sink.
Movement Question ????
-
I was wondering if this was a legal move:
During Combat Phase I move Transports/troops and a cruiser into unnoccupied seazone 37 to do an amphibious assault on Malaya. The Assult fails (though it shouldn’t have :P) and my ships stay in seazone 37.
I continue with the rest of my attacks for that turn and during my movement phase I want to move ships into seazone 37 to protect my transports and cruiser. Is that allowed? My friend claims it is an illegal move because you have to declare all attack movements at the same time when concerning a single space, but I didn’t attack seazone 37 as there was no enemy ships in there, I simply did an amphibious assault. So shouldn’t I be able to move ships into there after the combat phase?
Please verify. Much appreciated. :) -
Welcome, Alex!
You can reinforce a space in noncombat movement, whether you attacked it or not. The only restriction is that you can’t move air units into a newly captured land territory.





