#BAN THE VANN
IL's Axis and Allies Global 1939 and 1942 files
-
Ok so in both cases the thing is for one round?
If that is the case the cost must be changed:
pay 2 IPC fixed cost and 1 IPC for each adjacent territory or sea zone.
so if you want a fort in an area adjacent to 6 areas, the cost is 8 IPC
Small islands inside a sea zone are 3.
-
@Imperious:
Ok so in both cases the thing is for one round?
If that is the case the cost must be changed:
pay 2 IPC fixed cost and 1 IPC for each adjacent territory or sea zone.
so if you want a fort in an area adjacent to 6 areas, the cost is 8 IPC
Small islands inside a sea zone are 3.
Yes, I like that.
-
@coachofmany:
I have to agree, we changed the fort rule to first round only.
@coachofmany:
@Imperious:
Ok so in both cases the thing is for one round?
If that is the case the cost must be changed:
pay 2 IPC fixed cost and 1 IPC for each adjacent territory or sea zone.
so if you want a fort in an area adjacent to 6 areas, the cost is 8 IPC
Small islands inside a sea zone are 3.
Yes, I like that.
Good to see that someone agrees with me that ILs forts need to be changed. One round looks like a possible solution. But our first effort at change is a complete rework. What we are using now is basicly a fortified long range artillary piece. Cost is six IPCs with a limit of two per land territory. Each fort defends one border. It will preempt an attack by firing two shots. Two dice at four or less. Attacker chooses casualties and they have no return fire. If additional rounds of combat are required then the fort fires at the start of each round. Yes it is possible that both defender and attacker can have a fort on the same border. They both work the same. If the defender loses all other supporting units then the fort must surrender and is captured UNLESS the defender has a combat engineer. The combat engineer may roll one die and fort is destroyed on a two or less. There are other ways the fort may be destroyed but I will not go into that now. If a fort is placed on a sea coast border then it will also preempt an amphipious landing by firing three shots at the landing force. Three dice hitting on a four or less. Attacker choosing his own casualties. We thought about the defender targeting certain units but we have not tried that yet. Fort fires at the start of each combat round and destroyed units do not return fire. OK, I am ready to here some feedback.
-
bumper.
-
dont you need a airbase before G1 can attack with planes. so if you buy airbase on your turn can you use it right away?
-
Read the rules first. The game has no airbases.
-
IL minor axis allies cannot move until germans 3 turn correct and moved by germany player only? and if japan attacks Uk, Dutch islands, or Anzc they are not at war with USA.
-
IL minor axis allies cannot move until germans 3 turn correct and moved by germany player only?
Yes except Finland which can defend or go on the attack if first attacked by USSR. ON T3 Germany controls and gets the money.
and if japan attacks Uk, Dutch islands, or Anzc they are not at war with USA.
NO if Japan attacks anybody except China, they are at war with USA, UK, ANZAC, and Dutch.
-
ok thats why theres oil for japan first 4 turns. thanks
-
Yes they don’t need to make an oil shortage roll because they have 4 turns of reserves. If you don’t attack by turn 4, they must roll the die. If they attack early, the oil reserves are lost on their next turn, so if they attack Dutch or UK or USA early they need to take one oil center or face an oil shortage roll.
Germany and Italy trace oil from Romania even if its neutral till turn 3.
-
IL Germany attacks Paris.Controlls Paris. French troops in Normandy removed. Becomes UK territory. Can UK transport ground troops to normandy on UK turn 1 do to Paris now being conquered territory? Also on G2 move, Germant takes over Normandy. Does it still keep minor factory. I was going to put the 1 infrantry and 1 mech on that territory to force Germany to attack instead of just walking in if can’t transport UK troops. Also can UK attack Japan in FIC or they can’t attack until Japan starts war against them?
-
looking back at map FIC becomes UK after Paris falls?
-
IL Germany attacks Paris.Controlls Paris. French troops in Normandy removed. Becomes UK territory. Can UK transport ground troops to normandy on UK turn 1 do to Paris now being conquered territory? Also on G2 move, Germant takes over Normandy. Does it still keep minor factory. I was going to put the 1 infrantry and 1 mech on that territory to force Germany to attack instead of just walking in if can’t transport UK troops. Also can UK attack Japan in FIC or they can’t attack until Japan starts war against them?
Yes UK can do anything they want. Only france suffers. Also, if UK can recapture Paris on the same turn it falls the France units remain to fight, so no Vichy determination is made. Paris must fall and be under control for the rest of the turn for Vichy status to be acted upon
ON the Normandy Factory…. if Paris falls and Normandy is not occupied till a turn after then Germany gets to keep the factory. If UK decides to hold it and fight, then if Germany takes it it is destroyed. If Paris falls and only french occupy Normandy and LATER the Germans occupy Normandy, they can use the factory.
UK or USA cannot attack FIC or Japan in any way. Only Japan makes this decision unless the 4th turn occurs when they are automatically at war.
So in France leave Normandy alone and hope the British don’t fight for it after Paris falls. One way to stop that is to blockade with your fleet and take Paris on turn G1, so UK has no opportunity to move any troops to Normandy.
looking back at map FIC becomes UK after Paris falls?
no. after paris falls, Japan can take it with no repercussions or war with anybody.
-
But rules say all french troops removed and dice roll for free french ships. vichytroops go to vichy territorys and thought french troops in normady get remove right away. Just confused
-
But rules say all french troops removed and dice roll for free french ships. vichytroops go to vichy territorys and thought french troops in normady get remove right away. Just confused
Ok thats correct, but remember if UK can retake Paris and hold then the french can start building again. The french once Paris falls are turned into Vichy, but UK still has some options. They need to decide if they want a protracted war or just leave France to die as they did historically.
SO for Normandy, if you don’t attack it and UK does not contest it, you can use the minor factory on the turn following the fall of France since you left it alone and didn’t attack it when you took Paris.
-
Will just go with UK staying out. can’t land anyway do to german subs in way. just put the 1 inf and 1 mech in Normady and play like it really happened ( france falls ). but wow dos make things interesting if UK did go in Normandy on UK1. Also UK gets 3 icp’s from other territorys.
-
Thats part of the decision process. If you don’t take Paris on G1 that can happen. If you do then Italy is in the war, which can be bad but you also gain an ally. I know its not historical, but once France falls, the Suez is closed for one turn ( Levant states go Vichy and the turmoil shuts down the Suez for one turn) and this buys Italy a turn to do something…
The design allows this because it gives the axis more options for Italy, due to her weakness. Once she gets going its like AA50 so make good decisions for Italy and consider the options carefully.
-
so are you saying I shouldn’t attack france until G3 and let Italy build its troops up. but then if I SBR France on G1 and G2 thats an act of war.
I usually attack France on G1 or G2. Not G3. When i say attack i mean capture paris. If i attack on G2, what i do is take Poland, Norway, Yugoslavia, Denmark and a large pile against Benelux, which attacks paris and does not need to attack the Maginot line. If you G1 Paris you got to attack across the Maginot line and that will cost you.
On I1, Italy can still take some neutrals and not get into a war with UK or France.
SBR is an act of war BTW.
-
ok The Maginot line thats just more Fortresses that France can build on ? G1 Germany took Paris,Norway and West Poland. Didn’t take Benelux or Denmark. Probably should have.Have 4 inf, 2 mech, 2 art, 2 arm in Paris now. UK attacked Norway and broke even on troops. empty territotry but germany control. I1 attack Yug and Greece and ( non combat ) was going to move troops to Cyrenaica to attack UK in Egypt on I2 Will just play and see what happens. Thanks IL
-
ok The Maginot line thats just more Fortresses that France can build on ?
France starts with it. Infantry and artillery only get +1 on defense.
G1 Germany took Paris,Norway and West Poland. Didn’t take Benelux or Denmark. Probably should have.Have 4 inf, 2 mech, 2 art, 2 arm in Paris now. UK attacked Norway and broke even on troops. empty territotry but germany control. I1 attack Yug and Greece and ( non combat ) was going to move troops to Cyrenaica to attack UK in Egypt on I2 Will just play and see what happens. Thanks IL
ok
Also, Remember the change in fortifications. It is not placed in the border, but inside the space. The cost is calculated as 2 IPC fixed, plus 2 IPC per border that is adjacent to another border.
If a space is adjacent to 5 spaces, then it will cost 12 IPC to build that fortification. See other posts on this in the thread.