If you build an AC or 2 transports on G1, the allies can both buy air and sink you unified navy in sz7 on UK2 and US2. If you really want to mess with the Allies in the Atlantic, you might want to try one of the following strategies (though they do come at a cost):
bid a sub in sz8 and kill the sz2 navy on G1 (you can combine this with a naval purchase on G1 and foregoing Egypt, sending the sz 14 fleet to sz 13, if you have the nerve) Buy something like bomber, fig, 5 inf or bomber, 8 inf and move your navy to sz 7 (add the sub in sz 8 or a possible bid unit for added effect). Because of the extra bomber, the UK will be hard-pressed to unify in sz 8 and hitting 5+ units in sz 7 is not really attractive either.Do transports count?
-
If I must designate where my carriers go when I send my planes, I believe I am allowed to assume I win all battles with no losses. Does that mean I can attack a SZ with only a transport so if I win (which I can’t) my Carrier would be able to move through and provide a landing place for the fighters?
This would make no logical sense, but if it is in the rules, that’s great. -
No. You can assume that you will roll all hits and the defender will roll all misses, but even in that situation a transport cannot defeat a warship. The assumption must be that it’s at least possible to clear the sea zone, however unlikely.