I think CC might be onto something here. It’s been 17 years since I played the original Axis and Allies game by Nova, but I could have sworn we had to have twice as many transports as we do now because we couldn’t ‘bridge’. Mind you, we also played that you needed a transport to get from Egypt to Syria.
Everything under page 16 ‘transport movement’ is under the umbrella of combat movement. So, you can (load, move, move unload) as easily as (move, move, load, unload) as easily as (load, unload). You can even (load, move, move) or (move, move) but if you do either then the transport is finished and cannot then do any loading or unload just as surly as if it had unload 1 of 2 INF for combat, ie, it could then NOT unload the other INF during non-combat movement.
You could load a transport during combat, as long as it does not move it has not moved, it seems a tautology but it bears repeating. Loading is not moving and if it has not moved it has not moved.
So, if it ain’t combat movement then obviously you turn to page 21, Section 6 for Naval units. For any transports that have not moved the following applies: Anything that falls into this category {Empty transports, transports loaded with cargo} can be moved to friendly coastal territories to either load or unload.
This allows 4 potentially legal combinations:
A) Empty transport can load
B) Empty transport can unload (Can be safely ruled out)
C) transports loaded with cargo can load (Well, if it has 1 INF sure, 1 more INF)
D) transports loaded with cargo can unload. (Sounds good to me.)
Nowhere does it say you can load AND unload during combat movement except under combat movement when bridging is described. Since they give an example of bridging while NOT moving during non-combat it must be legal.
BB