LeeMorrison (+6) v Gamerman01 (Allies) Classic Tourn Loser bracket round 3


  • The stacks rule is clearly stated in the middle of page 7 of the rulebook. You can only have 2 aircraft carrier stacks, for example.

    I’m not seeing the detailed rule about the Factories and AA guns after a quick look.

    @The_Good_Captain can you point us to the clear rule about limited Factories and AA guns if there is one, and expound a little on how the groups must stay together?

    Like if you had 3 aircraft carriers in 2 groups, could you move them in 3 different routes during the combat movement phase (say, to establish a retreat route) if you end up in 2 different locations (since you have only 2 plastic carriers)?


  • @leemorrison said in LeeMorrison (+6) v Gamerman01 (Allies) Classic Tourn Loser bracket round 3:

    @gamerman01 re last AA guns

    There are NO last anything in Classic 2nd Edition

    This is not correct although it absolutely was/is the most missed rule in the game.

    Page 7 in the manual under “Plastic Chips”.

    Also the official errata, last question on the first page: https://axisallies.com/rules/axis-allies-rules-classic-2nd-edition-faqs.pdf

    In my experience, AA guns (there are only three available for purchase at the start of the game) and IC (only four available) are the most affected by this rule.


  • @gamerman01 said in LeeMorrison (+6) v Gamerman01 (Allies) Classic Tourn Loser bracket round 3:

    The stacks rule is clearly stated in the middle of page 7 of the rulebook. You can only have 2 aircraft carrier stacks, for example.

    I’m not seeing the detailed rule about the Factories and AA guns after a quick look.

    @The_Good_Captain can you point us to the clear rule about limited Factories and AA guns if there is one, and expound a little on how the groups must stay together?

    Like if you had 3 aircraft carriers in 2 groups, could you move them in 3 different routes during the combat movement phase (say, to establish a retreat route) if you end up in 2 different locations (since you have only 2 plastic carriers)?

    The example in the FAQ posted above helps clarify.

    The definition of a “unit” on page 7 covers AA guns and industrial complexes. There is no exception posted anywhere for those units. They are limited in the same way.


  • Thanks for confirming, I’m just a new learner of the rule. And it really changes the game a lot, maybe @leemorrison will decide he likes the actual official rule, like I did. Bring on the quirkiness.

    Can you address my question about how exactly this works during movement? Do you just have to end a phase with the limit?

    My example, you have 2 stacks of aircraft carriers, say one in the Atlantic and the other in the Pacific, where it’s chipped because you have 2 aircraft carriers in the Pacific.

    During combat movement, is it allowable to send those 2 carriers along 2 different routes but end up in the same battle?


  • Got it, I didn’t see that I also had a FAQ, was thinking I only had the CLASSIFIED clarification

    Now I see my specific question is answered, the carriers could not even split up during a combat move that ends in the same place

Suggested Topics

  • 5
  • 59
  • 89
  • 98
  • 126
  • 29
  • 43
  • 124
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

32

Online

17.8k

Users

40.5k

Topics

1.8m

Posts