yeah, its my mistake. the rulebook says that the US gets their 40 ipc boost in the turn after a japanse attack on a allied territory. China is not included
Japan declaring war question
-
The United States may not declare war on Japan unless Japan first declares war on it or makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the United Kingdom or ANZAC
Ok, there is the exact wording
By the spirit of the rules……If Japan makes an unprovoked declaration war on any allied power (other than China, with whom it is already at war) then the United States is “obliged” to declare war.
Upon digesting what you are asking for specificly, which has also illuded everyone else in this thread becuase you didnt offer an example…“can US units block Japanese naval movement if Japan only declares war on ANZAC and UK?”
My answer (and I “suspect” Kreigs) would be “no”, by the letter of the rules. If Japan only declares war on UK and ANZAC on its turn, then US units remain neutral UNTILL their combat move phase, when the US may then officaly declare war.
So what you want to do is move units through the phillipines sea zone after declaring war on the UK and ANZAC, and leave the US units there intact.
-
The United States may not declare war on Japan unless Japan first declares war on it or makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the United Kingdom or ANZAC
Ok, there is the exact wording
By the spirit of the rules……If Japan makes an unprovoked declaration war on any allied power (other than China, with whom it is already at war) then the United States is “obliged” to declare war.
Upon digesting what you are asking for specificly, which has also illuded everyone else in this thread becuase you didnt offer an example…“can US units block Japanese naval movement if Japan only declares war on ANZAC and UK?”
My answer (and I “suspect” Kreigs) would be “no”, by the letter of the rules. If Japan only declares war on UK and ANZAC on its turn, then US units remain neutral UNTILL their combat move phase, when the US may then officaly declare war.
So what you want to do is move units through the phillipines sea zone after declaring war on the UK and ANZAC, and leave the US units there intact.
what kind of bnullshit are you mentioning?
if what you say is true i’m making my own AAA, with more logical units'oh, look; japanese zero’s are attacking british units, who are our allies. Let’s waith a round for official reasons!
almost as BS as ‘planes can’t scramble on non-islands’
-
That is what I’m asking, yes.
To give you the scenario, I want to declare war on UK and invade India amphibiously. There is a US DD in Malaya - does he block me?
That is what I need Krieghund to clarify, as it seems fuzzy as to when the States declares war - especially how it is now written in the Harris website FAQ.
Cheers
-
Yes, it does block.
Unless UK/ANZAC declared war on Japan first, if Japan declares war on UK then it is declaring war on all Allied players, including USA. If however UK/ANZAC did declare war on Japan first, Japan can retaliate without bringing USA into the conflict. Let’s assume the former is the case, because that’s what it sounds like happened.
When Japan declares war, it does so at the beginning of the combat phase, before you move units to their respective combats. At that moment all units of powers with which you are at war immediately become hostile. Thus, the USA destroyer is hostile and successfully blocks your fleet.
Cheers,
tcpj -
Respectfully, that is not what the FAQ says.
Again, I’m waiting for Krieghund
-
Looking for loopholes in the rules is not the way of DOOM!
-
Doom makes his own rules!
-
An unprovoked declaration of war by Japan against any allied power should be considered to be a declaration of war against them all, and would have been using the political rules in the book.
But the replacement political situation in the errata contains no rule that says an unprovoked declaration of war by Japan against UK/ANZAC automatically brings the US into the war. So, it doesn’t. The US would still be considered neutral until they declare war on their turn. Japan is free to ignore the US units.
If this wasn’t intended, it will be easy to fix in the next FAQ update.
-
Or we could wait to see what Krieg says…
-
logically thinking (…) would say US is at war at once
but then again, logically thinking would have produced 6 japanese tactical bombers instead of 12 and planes not able to scramble on non-islands -
Or we could wait to see what Krieg says…
I’m pretty sure Krieg HAS answered this a few weeks ago, but I don’t have the energy to go searching through it from a random thread. I’m 99% sure that he confirmed that the US ship WILL block, as declaring war unprovoked on the UK/Anzac is a declaration of war on the US as well, which isn’t stated like that specifically in the FAQ, but should be.
-
Krieg, here is what the official FAQ from Larry’s site says:
At the beginning of the game, Japan is only at war with China. Japan considers movement of units into China by any other power as an act of war against it. Japan may declare war on any or all Allied powers at the beginning of the Combat Move phase of any of its turns. Japan may attack Dutch territories only if a state of war exists between it and the United Kingdom and ANZAC. Japan may attack French territories at any time, requiring no declaration of war against any Allied power before doing so.
If I don’t declare war on the US, only UK - as the wording allows me to - does US need to wait until their own turn to declare war on me? Japan needs to wait until its turn to declare war, according to the above statement, so I assume this to be the same for the allies?
-
Or we could wait to see what Krieg says…
I’m pretty sure Krieg HAS answered this a few weeks ago, but I don’t have the energy to go searching through it from a random thread. I’m 99% sure that he confirmed that the US ship WILL block, as declaring war unprovoked on the UK/Anzac is a declaration of war on the US as well, which isn’t stated like that specifically in the FAQ, but should be.
It may have been addressed before, I’ve only read the last couple weeks worth of posts here. I am a bit curious though as to what the official ruling is. I tend to agree that the ship would block, but, I haven’t seen this question addressed before, so I can understand why Jim would want an official ruling.
-
@Yoper:
Put this together with the point that if Japan declares war on the UK/ANZAC, it automatically declares war on the US. Doing this would cause the ships to be in the way.
The only way that Japan can be at war with the UK/ANZAC without being at war with the US is if the UK/ANZAC player declares war on the Japanese first.
Where is the rule that if Japan declares war on the UK/ANZAC it automatically declares war on the US?
It’s in the rule book in a section that was entirely replaced by errata that does not contain it anymore.
If they were automatically at war, there would be no reason to give the US the ability to declare war on Japan when Japan makes an unprovoked declaration against the UK/ANZAC, since they would already be at war anyway.
-
The FAQ says Japan can declare war on any or all allies. It is clear, and I quoted it.
Can we wait for Krieghund rather than think we know the answer?
-
The FAQ says Japan can declare war on any or all allies. It is clear, and I quoted it.
Can we wait for Krieghund rather than think we know the answer?
I don’t need him to tell me what it does say. I’m sure he will be able to clarify what it should say, though. But even then, a post here isn’t official.
No one needs him to clarify anyway. Just make sure everyone knows how it’s going to be before you start a game. I suggest that it be made clear that Japan can only make an unprovoked declaration of war against all allied powers.
-
There’s another funky thing about the new way war is declared. The way it’s worded seems to indicate that a declaration of war isn’t automatically reciprocal. e.g., the US may declare war on Japan, if Japan declares war on it.
If Japan declared war on the US, why would the US need to declare war on Japan? Wouldn’t they already be at war? And what happens, if the US doesn’t want to declare? Can they rules lawyer some kind of sneakiness from it?
-
Jim010’s point is
The US cant declare war untill its Combat Move phase AFTER Japan has declared war on UK/ANZAC
There is logic to his argument
however, from a game play standpoint I do not think it was within the spirt of the rules.
by the letter of the rules, No power may declare war untill its Combat Move Phase and there are no restrictions preventing it from declaring war
HOWEVER! Let us examine “Special Comments and Clarifications Related to Neutral Powers”
If a power is not yet at war with another power, and there are no restrictions currently keeping them from being at war (see The Political Situation on pg. 8), it may declare war on that power. This must be done on the declaring power’s turn at the beginning of the Combat Move phase, before any combat movements are made, unless otherwise specified in the political rules (see pg. 8). An actual attack is not required. Once war is declared, all territories and sea zones controlled by or containing units belonging to the power or powers on which war is declared instantly become hostile, and the normal restrictions of moving into or through hostile spaces apply.
Important exception – During the combat movement phase following the announced declaration of war, transports already in sea zones that have just become hostile may be loaded in those sea zones (but not in other hostile sea zones). This may occur only during the combat movement phase which results in a state of war. Once that initial combat movement phase is over, normal transport loading restrictions apply.
If neccesary, this can be read to mean….If a power is not at war with another power (US not at war with Japan) and nothing is restricting that power from declaring war (Japan has made an unprovoked declaration of war on UK/ANZAC) then that power may then declare war. This must be done on the declaring powers turn. (Now comes the controversey, since Japan HAD to declare war, are they the declaring power and is this their turn that the rule speaks of? I argue that it is.) In the combat move phase before any moves are made.
Here is the issue with the “Special Comments and Clarifications Related to Neutral Powers”
When is “the declaring power’s turn”Is it Japans turn, because it is the one “declaring war”?
or is the declaring powers turn, your turn, and you can never declare war out of turn?REGARDLESS, this situation deals with basicly ONE UNIT on the game board…the phillipines destroyer.
Is it really being used to stunt japan so dramaticly, that you couldnt just declare war on the US also, becuase they will as soon as it comes to their turn. What are you really missing out on by just killing it.
I assume some sort of amphibious super sneak attack… -
@Yoper:
This is from the FAQ that is posted on the LHGD site and is considered the official FAQ:
The United States
The United States may not declare war on Japan unless Japan first declares war on it or makes
an unprovoked declaration of war against the United Kingdom or ANZAC. However, if the United States is still not at war with Japan by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, it may declare
war on Japan at that time. Representing a switch from a peacetime to wartime economy, the
American player collects an additional 40 IPCs. This wartime economy takes effect during the
first U.S. turn in which it is at war with Japan, regardless of the event that triggered the state of
war.I would read the bold section above to mean that the US and Japan are at war with each other as soon as the Japan declare on the UK/ANZAC. Which would then mean that the movement is affected.
There is no need to wait until the US turn to reciprocate with a separate declaration by the US. The only time you are going to get a specific US first declaration of war is when the Japanese don’t attack before the Collect Income Phase of the US third turn.
I will email Krieghund directly to get him to comment on this topic.
From the official errata on the WOTC site - same as the one on the LHGD site:
If a power is not yet at war with another power, and there are no restrictions currently keeping them from
being at war (see The Political Situation on pg. 8 ), it may declare war on that power. This must be done
on the declaring power’s turn at the beginning of the Combat Move phase, before any combat movements
are made, unless otherwise specified in the political rules (see pg. 8 ). An actual attack is not required.No where is it ever specified that there is an exception to this that allows the US to immediately declare, when Japan makes an unprovoked declaration on UK/ANZAC. The errata clearly says it must be done at the beginning of its Combat Move phase.
-
That is the core of my question … when is war declared by US, or UK/AN (whichever is NOT attacked by Japan), now that Japan can select which ally to declare war on. Is it instantly, or on thier turn. And this has everything to do with blocking, but not just teh american DD.