Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

  • '19 '17 '16

    Hmm, I would think in the scenario that Italy attacks but fails to capture, then the allies would be allowed to pass through the strait, since Turkey has now joined the allies.


  • @simon33 As the rules in the first quote above require a canal/strait to be controlled by a friendly power (not just friendly), the Allies may not pass through either until Turkey becomes controlled by an Allied power.

  • '19 '17 '16

    @Krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @simon33 As the rules in the first quote above require a canal/strait to be controlled by a friendly power (not just friendly), the Allies may not pass through either until Turkey becomes controlled by an Allied power.

    That is not what I would expect, but I guess that is a decision. Rules state that (eur, p9)“If your side (but not necessarily your power) controlled a canal or narrow strait at the start of your turn, you may move
    sea units through it” so in this scenario, Turkey has joined the allies, so for other allies,their side has controlled the strait at the start of their turn.

    Hmm…


  • @simon33 Also per page 9, “In order to control a canal or narrow strait, you must control its controlling land territory or territories.” As quoted above, Turkey “remains uncontrolled” until a power moves land unit into it. While it is friendly to the Allies, it is not controlled by an Allied power, and therefore they may not pass through the strait until it is.


  • @Krieghund

    UK1, the SZ 111 fleet was spared. Germany dropped an AB in Holland with 3 ftrs, 110 is empty.

    On UK noncombat phase they move the 111 fleet to 110.

    Can the Germans scramble?

    Reading the rule book and this forum it seems the answer is no, since it is non combat. Rule book constantly mentions combat over and over so I assume you can’t scramble during noncombat.

    Seems weird but that’s how I am reading the rules.


  • Page 16 of the Europe rulebook (under Phase 2: Combat Move):

    “Scrambling is a special movement that the defender can make at the end of this phase.”
    [Which I take to mean only during Phase 2]

    Also page 16:

    “Surviving scrambled air units land during that turn’s Noncombat Move phase, before the attacker makes any movements.”
    [Therefore even if scramblers still exist above the SZ, they retreat before UK makes their Non-Combat movements]


  • That’s right, there is never scrambling in noncombat

    Scramble on page 16 says it’s a special movement the defender can make at the end of this phase. It must be done after all of the attacker’s combat movements have been completed and all attacks have been declared.

    The scramble rule on page 16 is at the end of Phase 2 Combat movement in the rulebook

    So I’m just confirming simon.tressel

    I am curious about your explanation that it is “how I am reading the rules”. Where does the question come from, if you don’t mind?

  • M max334 referenced this topic

  • All,
    Good morning from USA! Question about amphib assaults. Scenario is 10 infantry attacking a territory via land. In addition, two infantry + four artillery attacking same territory via amphib assault. Can all four artillery pair with infantry on the attack?? Or because only two infantry are part of the amphib assault, only two of the artillery can pair with the infantry. Any of you smart gents know the answer??


  • @Trout They can be paired together regardless of where they came from.


  • @Krieghund Got it - thx Krieghund

Suggested Topics

  • 10
  • 2
  • 2
  • 19
  • 3
  • 9
  • 5
  • 6
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

53

Online

17.7k

Users

40.3k

Topics

1.8m

Posts