Don’t worry, the rules are not that hard. I am 12 myself! Let me answer your questions.
In a combat move, you can move as many troops as you like from as many territories as you want. For example, if America took over the Kwangtung, the Japanese could make a joint attack from French Indochina and Manchuria. If there was two infantry and a tank in Manchuria, you could use all of them to mount the attack. If you do not have any troops in a territory, it is still under your control until an enemy takes it. You can mount completely seperate battles in the space of one turn as long as they don’t happen at the same time.
Now for the dice question. When you place your troops on the battle strip in the correct places, you can see a units attack number. You roll once for each unit, even if they have the same attacking or defending number. If you roll that unit’s number or less, you score a hit.
Lastly, I must give some fighter/bomber clarification. If you have planes on an island, and you see a ship or fleet coming towards, most likely for an amphibious assault, then you can bomb the ships IF the ships have finished their turn, and it is now yours. Remember, ships can move two sea zones per turn. I do not fully understand your second question. It does not matter whether enemy ships are in a sea zone friendly to you or not. You can send fighters and bombers over the ships both ways, as long as you have enough moves for the plane to get back to friendly land or sea territories. However, I would advise not to send bombers to attack ships that are in a sea zone right next to where the enemy has amassed AA guns.
That’s all. Don’t worry about asking simple questions. I did the same thing when I was first introduced to A&A.
Newb questions/help
-
Hello, I know you all have probably seen these questions 1 million times, but I couldnt find the answers on the forum =/. Here are my questions:
Islands: are they considered part of a sea zone or seperate - say the us attacks Wake and I have a Japanese fleet there, can the fleet defend the island?
Plane movement: is taking off from land to see a movement?
Subs: say I have 3 subs parked off the shore of england, can england send a bomber and attack me on the first turn with no retaliation? Am I considered above water for the first round?Your help appreciated.
-
Islands: are they considered part of a sea zone or seperate - say the us attacks Wake and I have a Japanese fleet there, can the fleet defend the island?
They are separate spaces. If the US is attacking by air, the Japanese fleet will not participate. However, if the US is doing an amphibious assault, it must fight and defeat the Japanese fleet before it can land troops.
Plane movement: is taking off from land to see a movement?
Yes. The same applies to returning to land.
Subs: say I have 3 subs parked off the shore of england, can england send a bomber and attack me on the first turn with no retaliation? Am I considered above water for the first round?
Air units can’t hit subs unless there is a destroyer friendly to them in the battle. Without a destroyer, sending the bomber is useless. With a destroyer, the bomber could hit the subs until the subs hit the destroyer.
-
Air units can’t hit subs unless there is a destroyer friendly to them in the battle. Without a destroyer, sending the bomber is useless. With a destroyer, the bomber could hit the subs until the subs hit the destroyer.
Dont mean to hijack the thread… Just wanted to confirm. I previously understood that planes could NEVER hit subs, and vice versa? So if I send in a destroyer, I can also hit the subs with my planes? At this point the sub cannot submerge as there is a destroyer present, but can the subs do any damage to the planes?
-
I previously understood that planes could NEVER hit subs, and vice versa?
Subs can never hit planes. Planes can only hit subs if there’s a friendly destroyer.
So if I send in a destroyer, I can also hit the subs with my planes?
Yes.
At this point the sub cannot submerge as there is a destroyer present, but can the subs do any damage to the planes?
No. Their only hope is to sink the destroyer.
-
I greatly appreciate you clarifying this for me!
One more question then - Once the destroyer is destroyed, can the subs submerge?
-
Yes. However, in this particular example there would be no need for them to do so, since with the bomber unable to hit them any longer the battle would be effectively over.