Game History
Round: 2 Research Technology - Germans Purchase Units - Germans Germans buy 1 carrier, 1 fighter and 6 transports; Remaining resources: 0 PUs; Combat Move - Germans 1 unit repaired. 2 bombers moved from Western Germany to United Kingdom 1 tactical_bomber moved from Western Germany to 104 Sea Zone 1 submarine moved from 110 Sea Zone to 104 Sea Zone 1 fighter moved from 112 Sea Zone to 104 Sea Zone 1 tactical_bomber moved from Western Germany to 118 Sea Zone 1 fighter moved from 112 Sea Zone to 118 Sea Zone 3 submarines moved from 112 Sea Zone to 118 Sea Zone 1 infantry moved from Holland Belgium to Normandy Bordeaux 2 mech_infantrys moved from France to Normandy Bordeaux 2 armour moved from France to Normandy Bordeaux 1 armour moved from France to Normandy Bordeaux 1 armour moved from France to Normandy Bordeaux 2 infantry moved from Norway to 112 Sea Zone 2 infantry and 1 transport moved from 112 Sea Zone to 119 Sea Zone 2 infantry moved from 119 Sea Zone to Scotland Combat - Germans Air Battle in United Kingdom Germans attacks with 2 units heading to United Kingdom Air Battle is over, the remaining bombers go on to their targets Strategic bombing raid in United Kingdom Bombing raid in United Kingdom rolls: 3,8 and causes: 11 damage to unit: factory_major Bombing raid in United Kingdom causes 11 damage total. Battle in Scotland Battle in Normandy Bordeaux Germans attack with 4 armour, 1 infantry and 2 mech_infantrys French defend with 1 artillery, 1 factory_minor, 1 harbour and 1 infantry Germans win, taking Scotland from British, taking Normandy Bordeaux from French with 4 armour and 2 mech_infantrys remaining. Battle score for attacker is 4 Casualties for Germans: 1 infantry Casualties for French: 1 artillery and 1 infantry Battle in 118 Sea Zone Germans attack with 1 fighter, 3 submarines and 1 tactical_bomber British defend with 1 battleship, 1 cruiser and 1 destroyer Germans win with 1 fighter, 1 submarine and 1 tactical_bomber remaining. Battle score for attacker is 28 Casualties for Germans: 2 submarines Casualties for British: 1 battleship, 1 cruiser and 1 destroyer Battle in 104 Sea Zone Germans attack with 1 fighter, 1 submarine and 1 tactical_bomber British defend with 1 destroyer Germans win with 1 fighter, 1 submarine and 1 tactical_bomber remaining. Battle score for attacker is 8 Casualties for British: 1 destroyer Cleaning up after air battles Non Combat Move - Germans 1 fighter and 1 tactical_bomber moved from 104 Sea Zone to 112 Sea Zone 1 cruiser moved from 112 Sea Zone to 119 Sea Zone 1 carrier moved from 112 Sea Zone to 119 Sea Zone 1 battleship moved from 112 Sea Zone to 119 Sea Zone 1 destroyer moved from 112 Sea Zone to 119 Sea Zone 1 fighter and 1 tactical_bomber moved from 118 Sea Zone to 119 Sea Zone 1 fighter moved from Southern Italy to Western Germany 1 infantry moved from Western Germany to Holland Belgium 2 armour moved from France to Holland Belgium 1 aaGun moved from Western Germany to Holland Belgium 1 aaGun moved from Germany to Western Germany 1 aaGun moved from Poland to Germany 2 infantry moved from Slovakia Hungary to Germany 3 artilleries and 11 infantry moved from Germany to Western Germany 1 infantry moved from Romania to Slovakia Hungary 5 infantry moved from Bulgaria to Romania 2 infantry moved from Yugoslavia to Slovakia Hungary 3 armour moved from Yugoslavia to Western Germany 1 artillery moved from France to Western Germany 3 infantry moved from Finland to Norway 2 bombers moved from United Kingdom to Western Germany 1 infantry moved from Western Germany to Holland Belgium 1 infantry moved from Poland to Germany 1 infantry moved from Finland to Norway 1 infantry moved from Poland to Germany Place Units - Germans 1 carrier and 6 transports placed in 112 Sea Zone 1 fighter placed in Western Germany Turn Complete - Germans Germans collect 43 PUs; end with 43 PUs Trigger Germans 5 Swedish Iron Ore: Germans met a national objective for an additional 5 PUs; end with 48 PUs Objective Germans 1 Trade with Russia: Germans met a national objective for an additional 5 PUs; end with 53 PUsLeague General Discussion Thread
-
just reread your comment. So new email not working. Maybe go back to one of 2.6 prereleases
-
Turns out it’s likely my ISP as I was able to make things work again when I switched from my wifi to my phone’s personal hotspot. Now I have to call them up and see why it’s blocking me (tho some rolls do go through)… I was having other intermittent issues in general like my zoom disconnecting on me etc)
-
@barnee said in League General Discussion Thread:
yea my guess is that it’s a email issue. Unfortunately, I don’t think you can change emails mid game. I have never tried it though.
You can indeed change the emails, same as when you start a new game. After you have loaded up the save the dice server options before you enter the game.
-
I have not had any problems with the rolls, but I had not gotten a single Marti email for any game since July 1st until I finally just got one yesterday. Also no matter how many times I tell Gmail the Marti emails are not spam, many still get labeled as such. Maybe time for me to give another email provider a shot a well.
-
@mikawagunichi Proton worked like a champ. Marti emails galore
-
Question for the rules lawyers here! :)
@Adam514 @gamerman01The Pacific rulebook states:
The United States begins the game at war with no one. In addition to the normal restrictions (see “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 15), while it’s not at war with Japan, the United States may not move any units into or through China or end the movement of its sea units in sea zones that are adjacent to Japan-controlled territories.I’m not sure if I’m interpreting this correctly. Japan is not at war with USA, but captured Solomons as ANZAC declared war round 2. Since USA does not go to war until the end of its turn, I would assume this means USA will have to move their fleet out of 50&55. (PtV game)
Game Link: https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/post/1714994
Thanks in advance for clarifying for me and @max334!
-
USA may declare war at the beginning of the combat movement phase of round 3 because Japan declared war on UK/ANZ
If USA decides not to declare war on Japan US3, then USA may decide to declare war at the beginning of the collect income phase of US3 (note that this is actually optional)
So in the event that the USA for some reason does not declare war at the beginning of US3 (I suspect you may have overlooked this because of your question) then the USA is neutral during USA3 noncombat movement phase. One could argue that “may not end the movement of its sea units in sea zones that are adjacent to Japan-controlled territories” could mean that the USA can not MOVE and then end movement in such a sea zone, but I suspect the majority would interpret that the USA would have to move away, as you said, out of the sea zone that is now too close to Japanese property (the Solomons)
I’m not meaning to make some official interpretation here, I’m first wondering if in your case the US would declare war on US3 because now they can, in which case the rule about bordering Japan territory is irrelevant.
-
But Japan did not declare war on UK/ANZ; ANZ declared war on Japan changing the political status of ANZ, UK, UKP, and the Dutch with Japan as unprovoked. The US was not affected by ANZ unprovoked declaration of war on Japan. Right?
-
My 2 cents - the OOB rules require reinterpretation for PTV anyway as there are multiple sea zones which border both originally controlled US and Japanese territories, which puts some of the OOB rules in conflict. I would say if they are allowed to be in a SZ at the beginning on their turn, they are allowed to be there at the end.
-
@gamerman01 thanks for the reply. The US fleet is currently adjacent to both Queensland and the Solomons. The Solomons is Japanese-held and Queensland is ANZAC-held. ANZAC did an unprovoked war Dec round 2 so USA cannot declare war until the collect income phase. Since the fleet is already there, it’s not moving, but it would be ending the Movement phase there. 🤔
@mikawagunichi makes a good point that since there are some shared sea zones in PTV, where USA has a territory and so does Japan, that you would be legal to end your turn as the USA there.
-
@ArtofWar1947 correct, ANZAC did an unprovoked attack so US cannot wardec until Collect Income of the round (we’re currently in round 3).
I can see a good argument for US fleet to be able to stay off the coast of Queensland, but seems that it would definitely be required to vacate the SZ that only touches Solomons.
-
@Stucifer said in League General Discussion Thread:
@ArtofWar1947 correct, ANZAC did an unprovoked attack so US cannot wardec until Collect Income of the round (we’re currently in round 3).
I can see a good argument for US fleet to be able to stay off the coast of Queensland, but seems that it would definitely be required to vacate the SZ that only touches Solomons.
This situation has been thought about during the development of PTV. The PTV rule is the same as the G40 rule, so the US fleet must vacate any sea zone that touches a Japanese-controlled territory (in the event of an unprovoked declaration by Anzac/UK for example. It’s what makes the most sense, and the Allied player should take this into account when deciding if they want to make an unprovoked declaration of war on Japan.
-
Can Japan declare war to USA, but not to ANZAC and UK ?
Or it is possible only in the opposite direction?
-
@Amon-Sul said in League General Discussion Thread:
Can Japan declare war to USA, but not to ANZAC and UK ?
Or it is possible only in the opposite direction?
Japan can make an unprovoked declaration of war against the UK & ANZAC without also declaring war on the US. However, this then allows the US to declare war on Japan.
Bascially, you are going to be at war with them anyway so I guess why not just do it all in one go and save on the paperwaork.
-
@Amon-Sul said in League General Discussion Thread:
Can Japan declare war to USA, but not to ANZAC and UK ?
Or it is possible only in the opposite direction?
Yes, it is possible for Japan to declare war on the USA and not on UK/ANZ, so beware, Japan could zip through neutral UK/ANZ ships to get to the USA fleet
It is just when Japan declares war on UK/ANZ that USA may declare war on Japan. There is no rule that if Japan declares on USA that she must also declare on UK/ANZSorry I didn’t look at a PTV map when answering, and forgot how those Pacific sea zones work. But the answer is the same, US can’t end movement by Japan territory if not at war.
I was also confused, thinking Japan was at war with USA but it was unprovoked attack by UK/ANZ, thank you for clearing that up @ArtofWar1947Adam cleared it up - they interpret the rules that USA can’t stay in a zone bordering Japan territory, so have to vacate when not at war with Japan, that makes sense.
-
@Adam514 said in League General Discussion Thread:
[…] The PTV rule is the same as the G40 rule, so the US fleet must vacate any sea zone that touches a Japanese-controlled territory (in the event of an unprovoked declaration by Anzac/UK for example.
Thank you. Is there an exception for SZs 21,22,32,36? These sea zones are adjacent to both American & Japanese territories. I doubt any of those would be of interest to a US player, except perhaps 32: Wake Island, Marshall Islands.
-
@Stucifer said in League General Discussion Thread:
@Adam514 said in League General Discussion Thread:
[…] The PTV rule is the same as the G40 rule, so the US fleet must vacate any sea zone that touches a Japanese-controlled territory (in the event of an unprovoked declaration by Anzac/UK for example.
Thank you. Is there an exception for SZs 21,22,32,36? These sea zones are adjacent to both American & Japanese territories. I doubt any of those would be of interest to a US player, except perhaps 32: Wake Island, Marshall Islands.
No exceptions. Also means US ships need to leave Philippines on US1.
-
@mikawagunichi
@Stucifer @max334 @gamerman01 @Adam514I had a rough read here and remembered that
@Krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):No, it applies to all Japanese-controlled territories. However, New Zealand was not Japanese-controlled when the destroyer ended its movement there. It can remain there indefinitely, but if it moves away it may not return.
So to sum it up in my words it is about ending a movement not about ending a movement phase.
-
@gamerman01 said in League General Discussion Thread:
One could argue that “may not end the movement of its sea units in sea zones that are adjacent to Japan-controlled territories” could mean that the USA can not MOVE and then end movement in such a sea zone, but I suspect the majority would interpret that the USA would have to move away, as you said, out of the sea zone that is now too close to Japanese property (the Solomons)
😑And I guess the majority of us would be wrong
Thanks @pacifiersboard ! -
@Adam514 ty, good to know