Yeah I don’t know how to do the stats with all the multis and the learning games but at least I can document them in the list of all games 😀
Axis & Allies Global 1940 House Rules Expansion
-
@The-Captain
In the House Rules Expansion it doesn’t explain how Army Group movement works. Can the Army Group move 1 or 2 spaces? -
Hi @mkgionet
@The-Captain will respond as well , but since it’s middle of the night for him and you’re on now, I will also :)
The AG, Army Group, can only move as far as it’s lowest movement member.
So, if a AG had a Infantry that can only move 1, the AG could only move 1 to remain intact.The AG can be formed at start of Combat Move or after Combat Move as well as after Place New Units.
-
This post is deleted! -
An Army Group during Movement:
1. Combat Movement:
An Army Group that contains only units that can move 2 spaces - such as Mechanized Infantry units, Tank units, Waffen-SS units, Soviet Guard Infantry units etc. can move 2 spaces during the Combat Movement phase.Note:
Even if there is only 1 unit inside the Army Group that can move 1 space - such as an Infantry unit - the Army Group cannot move 2 spaces.2. Blitz Movement:
Even though a Blitz Movement is quite rare for an Army Group this movement is only possible when the Army Group contains the following units:- 2 Tank Armies (or Panzer Armies)
- 10 Tank or Panzer units
A Blitz Move is also possible if the Army Group contains the following units:
- 2 Tank Armies (or Panzer Armies)
- 10 units that are paired in order to Blitz (Tank + Mechanized Infantry etc.)
3. Non-Combat Movement:
The same game mechanisms that works during Combat Movement also applies during Non-Combat Movement.However, it is possible to split up an Army Group during Non-Combat Movement - and transfer any Armies and units from the Army Group to another territory - and then move fresh reinforcements into that territory - and combine all these Armies and units into a newly formed Army Group.
This newly formed Army Group is ready to defend in the same round - and ready to attack as an Army Group in the following round. -
@barnee Thanks Barnee! It would be good to add that to the rulebook.
-
heh heh @The-Captain in charge of that :)
@VictoryFirst has started a tournament on triplea if you’d like to play.
-
@barnee Thanks - actually will be busy starting a 6 person in-person game on Saturday.
-
We are working on a set of Appendix Volumes, that explains multiple examples and rules in the Axis & Allies Global 1940 House Rules Expansion.
These Appendix Volumes will replace the Rules Clarifications that we posted earlier.
The Appendix Volumes describe for example how an Army Group operates, how Armies operate, what is important concerning the German Take Over Of Italy etc.
In other words;
The Appendix Volumes explain most questions that are asked (FAQ) concerning the use of the Axis & Allies Global 1940 House Rules Expansion.The Appendix Volumes will be attached to the first post of this thread (page 1).
-
Sweet ! Are you playing with the Expansion rules ? If so, please post a game report :)
Either way, sounds like a lot of fun :)
-
Wow, that’s awesome to hear! Can’t wait for it to be released! 😁
-
@The-Captain Hello Captain! I’m hoping you can settle a rules question for me that resulted in quite a controversy in the game we started a couple days ago. I think the answer is quite obvious and my opponents are grasping at straws but let’s see what you decide!
Situation - A global 1940 game using expansion rules sections 1-4, turn 3 or 4. Russia and Japan are still at peace so the non-aggression pact is still in place.
Italy flies a bomber over to industrial bomb Russia’s factory in Stalingrad and then desires to land in Sikang, which is currently controlled by Japan. The allies vehemently argued that landing the bomber in a Japanese territory after bombing Russia would be a violation of the non-aggression pact and place Russia & Japan at war. I don’t see anything in the rules that would suggest that. What say you Captain?
Many thanks!
-
Hi @mkgionet
Italy can land the Strategic Bomber unit in Sikang - with no consequence for the Peace Treaty between Japan and the Soviet Union - even though this Strategic Bomber unit has conducted a raid against a Soviet facility.
When we look at the treaty between Japan and Soviet union, only those two Nations can violate this treaty.
-
@The-Captain Thank you Captain - that’s exactly what I thought!
-
The additional Optional Rules that we have released, like Combat Engineer, Fighter Ace etc. are now attached at pg 1 in this thread.
This makes it easier to locate the rules.
-
Wow ! Never saw 7 or 8 before :) Was just thinking of sub pens yesterday lol
Well, be a bit before they make there triplea appearance. Dam Dutch still not working right in Pacific islands :)
-
Hi Captain
A few questions on sub pens. Does this just mean the pens AA works the same as other Infrastructure ? Or can the Heavies actually kill them ?
Also, directly below that, says the free pens can be placed at any place phase. So if placed during 1st place, they’d be active end of turn, otherwise, it’d be their next turn ?
Last one, do you guys usually play with this option ?
Thanks
-
Regarding Operation Felix, if the “Strict Neutrals” are activated, does Spain then get the Pnzr, Ftr and Arty to defend as well ?
-
This post is deleted! -
The German U-Boat Pen units must be placed during the Place New Units phase - and can defend in this round against Allied Strategic Bomber units - but cannot protect German U-Boat units until Germany’s following turn.
Note:
The Heavy Bomber unit described on pg. 59 no longer has any Special Attack Ability concerning U-Boat Pen units.
The Special Attack Ability rule has been eliminated due to play balance - we’ll correct this in the next U-Boat Pen rules update.U-Boat Pen units defend as any other Facility concerning AAA defense.
The German U-Boat Pen rule is very usefull, when the German player wants to launch U-Boat Campaigns.
Game experience shows that when the Free German U-Boat Pen units enter the game, the War most often requires all other types of weaponry - meaning that Germany most often doesn’t spend IPC on U-Boat units anyway.
We advice experienced players to use the U-Boat Pen rule, when they want to test new strategies concerning U-Boat Campaigns.
-
Just to double check, Tac Bmbrs can’t attack them ?
Edit
One more :) Pen can defend U-boats in multiple SZs ? So 1 Pen in Normandy could protect 2 in 110 and 1 in 105 ?It doesn’t say they can’t, so I’m thinking so.