@Krieghund:
If Japan does not provoke war, the US will declare war in the Collect Income phase of its third turn. This means that its income will increase by 40 on turn 3 and it will be able to attack on turn 4.
Hi, first post time.
I think this is one of those situations where someone familiar with the rules doesn’t see the ambiguity.
Does the Declaration of war, and the resulting increase in income, happen before or after the US collects its income in the Collect income phase of the 3rd turn?
My suggestion to make it clear would be to replace the phrase “the US will declare war in the Collect Income phase” with “the US will declare war at the start of the Collect Income phase”… Unless that’s in correct.