I wouldn’t go to house rules as an option. Its a tough time for the allies, but you have to counter. If they build carriers, try building a bunch of subs. Their cheap to take hits, almost 3 to 1 cost of a carrier to dodge bullets. If you attack chances are you can ding the carriers and take out DD’s, and your allies can finish the job before Jap can fix them. Try to set up 3 fleets, all similar so if they attack one, you can counter a weakened Jap fleet with the other 2 before they repair. As for the Asian ground battle 3 IC would be tough. I’ve seen 2 and that was a bitch. It is easier for the UK if Jap has air, because its hard for them to protect newly taken tt. If they are dropping that much $ in tanks though ($6 a pop) like $40-$50 ipc they can’t be putting to many DD’ or other cheap ships into their navy making it more vulnerable IMO.
Rules Q&A
-
Just to be sure….
I guess it’s possible for the USA to built a minor IC in FIC, if recaptured from the Japs and controlled by them.
Correct?
-
Can a sub fire on lone transport if the 2 powers are not at war? if it can, is it a declaration of war? If so, would this still be true of a USA sub and Jap transport? Although the USA cannot attack until it is at war, it seems in this situation it is more of a defensive “attack” than an offensive one.
A power other than the US would be able to do this under any circumstances. The US would not be able to do it, however a combat movement by Japan that resulted in a state war with the US would free the US to respond in this manner.
…
I hope this does not mean on J1 the Japanese sub can wipe out the lone transport at Hawaii, without causing war with the USA? -
The last sentence, was my question…not a quote.
-
How does chinese recruitment work? I thought I read somewhere that they can purchase infantry without
owning an industrial complex. -
China purchases units by using IPCs it collects. It can only purchase infantry, unless the Burma road is open then it can also purchase artillery. It can then place these units in any of the territories controlled by China, including ones that China captured in the current turn.
-
@KH:
The last sentence, was my question…not a quote.
I believe any combat action against another power is considered an act of war.
-
@KH:
Just to be sure….
I guess it’s possible for the USA to built a minor IC in FIC, if recaptured from the Japs and controlled by them.
Correct?
Yes.
@KH:
Can a sub fire on lone transport if the 2 powers are not at war? if it can, is it a declaration of war? If so, would this still be true of a USA sub and Jap transport? Although the USA cannot attack until it is at war, it seems in this situation it is more of a defensive “attack” than an offensive one.
A power other than the US would be able to do this under any circumstances. The US would not be able to do it, however a combat movement by Japan that resulted in a state war with the US would free the US to respond in this manner.
…
I hope this does not mean on J1 the Japanese sub can wipe out the lone transport at Hawaii, without causing war with the USA?I believe any combat action against another power is considered an act of war.
KH Stuka is correct.
-
Hi all, first post.
I was a little confused with the way subs work.
Suppose I am the US player, and i have 2 subs in SZ 19.
The Jap player, on his turn, moves a battleship and a cruiser into the seazone, and chooses to conduct combat. (he may do this, not?)
A. Can I submerge my subs rather than firing, thus never conducting combat?
B. If I do this, are my subs still elgible to conduct convoy raids on the Jap’s collect income phase?
Thanks in advance for any help. -
The answer to all three questions is yes.
-
So the subs don’t need to survive a round of combat before submerging?
-
Evidently not. The rule book states that the subs may submerge when they would normally fire, and they would fire in the opening round if there were no destroyers present.
Looks like destroyers are going to be a must-have.
EDIT: The rule book refers to the subs opening attack as a Suprise Strike, not an opening round. That is back from the days of revised, I believe.
-
How does the UK start with 16 IPC with only 15 showing on the game map?
India 3
Burma 1
Shan State 1
Malaya 3
Kwangtung 3
Borneo 4Do you add in the Canadian Territory?
-
Yes, British Columbia counts for the UK….
-
Played first game yesterday.
Had a question with the political rules- just wanna make sure I’m reading this right…
For the US to go to war it either has to wait on Japan to attack them OR wait until after the third turn correct? It is not allowed to just attack Japan when it feels like it as the UK/ANZAC can correct???
Thanks in advance Kreighund,
:-)
-
Right, except if Japan invades Dutch territory or attacks the UK/ANZAC without being attacked by them first, the US also goes to war.





