@Veqryn:
the rules say you can’t launch a fighter/plane from a carrier with 1 hit on it.
the rules also say you can’t land a fighter/plane on a carrier with 1 hit
the rules also say that all fighters launch whenever your carrier is attacked, even if just by 1 sub.
so this begs the question, is there a situation possible where you have a fighter/plane on a hit carrier, or is the first rule just redundant? I don’t see why we need to have the first rule, since the situation would never occur with the other 2 rules…
Oh, and my friends and I plan on using Carriers as a 1/1/2/14 unit, instead of this 2 hit but too expensive to buy crap.
It’s not redundant when it involves friendly powers on carriers. Say Britain attacks a fleet using his carrier (and it has to attack to land a plane in that sea zone) but has a US fighter on board. Carrier takes a hit in the battle, the british fighter that was to land there will be lost (or was selected as a casualty) but the US fighter will remain on board as cargo, and now will not be able to launch until the carrier is back in port.
@Imperious:
Make a easy example:
Carrier 2 fighters with 1 hit and 1 cruiser and Battleship defending against 2 battleships, 2 Cruisers
The attacker gets two @4, two @3
Defender gets one @ 2, one @ 3, and one @ 4 The 2 fighters don’t roll. but if this was AA50 it would be:
three at 4 and two at 3
So now we are in a worse position with a 2 hit carrier. The price is now 16 IPC as well.
This is not good.
It seems unlikely that this would ever happen as the only way to end with a hit and two fighters aboard would mean you would have had to attack with a carrier with two friendly aircraft on board. As in the above example, with two US fighters. But I cannot think of an instance where you would WANT to do that unless it was a massive fleet attack and you couldn’t leave the carrier behind (but why not wait for the non combat move as the 1 soaker hit probably wouldn’t help with the attack all that much.