Yes, FWA. No sense going east and taking the French territory of FEA so that the Brits can quickly claim it well into the future.
L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3
-
But might be that there’s a special case with subs.
-
Think I know what the problem is.
“a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy submarines unless at least 1 warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase”
The thing is that you attack the sea zone with 1 ac. Battle commences. The ac gets sunk.
-
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
Think I know what the problem is.
“a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy submarines unless at least 1 warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase”
The thing is that you attack the sea zone with 1 ac. Battle commences. The ac gets sunk.
but I didn’t attack the sub. I ignored it, which is allowed so long as there’s at least one warship present. and a CV is a warship.
-
What I understand it you can only ignore it if the sub chooses to submerge instead of fight during the CM. This sub would chose to fight.
-
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
What I understand it you can only ignore it if the sub chooses to submerge instead of fight during the CM. This sub would chose to fight.
no that’s not right, a long sub can be ignored during an amphibious assault
-
@axis-dominion said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
What I understand it you can only ignore it if the sub chooses to submerge instead of fight during the CM. This sub would chose to fight.
no that’s not right, a long sub can be ignored during an amphibious assault
lone*
-
-
@trulpen so the decision is in the attacker’s hands
-
@axis-dominion said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
What I understand it you can only ignore it if the sub chooses to submerge instead of fight during the CM. This sub would chose to fight.
no that’s not right, a long sub can be ignored during an amphibious assault
Yes, during the amphi, but not during the sea-battle preceding the amphi. I’m pretty certain, but if you want we can get a ruling.
-
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
@axis-dominion said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
What I understand it you can only ignore it if the sub chooses to submerge instead of fight during the CM. This sub would chose to fight.
no that’s not right, a long sub can be ignored during an amphibious assault
Yes, during the amphi, but not during the sea-battle preceding the amphi. I’m pretty certain, but if you want we can get a ruling.
looks like you missed my screenshot of the rules. it’s clear
-
@axis-dominion said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
@trulpen so the decision is in the attacker’s hands
Aha, that might very well be.
-
I agree with the rule you presented. It’s crystal clear. There’s however also this rule:
“Although they don’t have an attack value and aren’t represented on the battle strip, carriers can still participate in an attack and can take hits, as long at least 1 unit with an attack value attacks along with them.”
-
I think this situation is not particularly clear actually. On one hand the attacker may ignore subs, but on the other hand an ac has 0 attack-value and shouldn’t be able to enter a sea zone alone with enemy units, even subs, without being obliterated.
-
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
I agree with the rule you presented. It’s crystal clear. There’s however also this rule:
“Although they don’t have an attack value and aren’t represented on the battle strip, carriers can still participate in an attack and can take hits, as long at least 1 unit with an attack value attacks along with them.”
Correct. That would be applicable for the case when a carrier is engaged in combat. However, in this case I have chosen to ignore the sub. No combat occurs, and so that rule is not applicable.
-
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
I think this situation is not particularly clear actually. On one hand the attacker may ignore subs, but on the other hand an ac has 0 attack-value and shouldn’t be able to enter a sea zone alone with enemy units, even subs, without being obliterated.
Of course a carrier can enter a sea zone with subs lol
-
I think you’re right. Fucking rules.
May I move away my subs since they’re completely fucking useless?
-
@axis-dominion said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
I agree with the rule you presented. It’s crystal clear. There’s however also this rule:
“Although they don’t have an attack value and aren’t represented on the battle strip, carriers can still participate in an attack and can take hits, as long at least 1 unit with an attack value attacks along with them.”
Correct. That would be applicable for the case when a carrier is engaged in combat. However, in this case I have chosen to ignore the sub. No combat occurs, and so that rule is not applicable.
But again, here it isn’t entering the sea zone to attack, but rather to escort the transport, since its mere presence as a warship allows it to ignore the sub.
-
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
I think you’re right. Fucking rules.
May I move away my subs since they’re completely fucking useless?
Well the sub rolled for convoy and missed. But ok I’ll allow it since you didn’t understand the rules. Go for it.
-
Thanks, would’ve cancelled the convoy disruption if there hadn’t be any. Only reason I put it there was to prevent a landing. Sigh.
-
@trulpen said in L20 A-QF axis-dominion (X) vs trulpen (A+25) BM3:
Thanks, would’ve cancelled the convoy disruption if there hadn’t be any. Only reason I put it there was to prevent a landing. Sigh.
If there had been any…