@bigchris:
(3a) specifically the state of a square going into “enemy control” and being in a “zone of control” were not 100% clear. when, exactly does this occur? do these hex states update immediately after the axis movement phase? or do they update after the axis reinforcement phase? or do they update after the allied movement/reinforcement phase?
Control of a hex and a unit’s zone of control are two different things.
Control of a hex is determined entirely by the position of the Front-Line Markers. If the hex is on the Allied side of the lines, it is controlled by the Allies. If the hex is on the Axis side of the lines, it is controlled by the Axis. The Front-Line Markers are moved during the Board Upkeep phase. If Axis units move across the line, the hex is still Allied-controlled. This hex is said to be Allied-controlled and Axis-occupied. During the Board Upkeep phase, the Axis units will claim control of the hex.
Zone of control is a different matter. Infantry, Tank and Artillery units always exert their zone of control for one hex around them. This has nothing to do with which side controls any of the hexes involved.
@bigchris:
for example, say in a hex the allied troops are forced back and the axis player moves his troops forward into the original allied hex. at some point, this originally allied hex become under enemy control, placing the retreated troops in a ZOC, but when? if a truck is there, it can still go off board, but my opponent and i found the allied troops are trapped.
When the Axis units move forward, the retreated troops fall under their zone of control, and vice versa. However, the occupied hex is still controlled by the Allies at this point. That won’t change until the Front-Line Markers are moved in the Board Upkeep phase.
@bigchris:
for a 2nd example, say in city wierbomoar all the allied troops are killed, leaving a gaping hole in the line, an open westerly path to Huy, and the middle of the board wide open. if axis troops claim the city in the movement phase, does that mean an axis truck can drive along the road through wierbomoar (no longer hostle?) all the way to Huy and drop off troops Huy (provided of course that road isn’t in an allied ZOC)? then do they get to claim Huy as well?
No. Werbomont is still controlled by the Allies when the Axis units move. The Trucks must stop there. This applies to Tanks as well, however they may do a blitz movement and move one hex further if you wish.
@bigchris:
(3b) i also found the rule about placing reinforcements ambiguous. the rule book states troops can be placed on the edge of board from the proper side if they are not “under enemy control”. then there is a 2nd explaination (with an image with green/red hexes) saying “on the proper side of the line” that doesn’t completely jive. we had an exception in our game.
The position of the line determines control. Just as with movement, you can’t place reinforcements into a hex occupied by enemy combat units.
@bigchris:
consider this example. the allies have troops in the southern city of mar, and the axis kills all of them. during the axis movement phase, they blitz tanks through mar to the west, and end up with no troops in mar. so my question is, can the allies put troops from the southern chart straight into mar? according to the green/red chart, this is still on the proper side of the front line (it hasn’t updated yet). i think the city is controlled by the enemy since the blitzing tanks claimed it (right?), but, since there are no troops there, is it “under enemy control” for reinforcement reasons? i found “under enemy control” means has enemy troops in it, so we found that i could place troops there if i wanted (to cut off retreat). agree?
Yes, the Allies can place units there. The hex is on the correct side of the lines and there are no enemy combat units in it. In order to gain control of a hex containing an enemy City, Supply and/or Truck, you must have combat units actually in it during the Board Upkeep phase. If Tanks blitz through a City and leave no units behind, the City does not change control during the Board Upkeep phase, and a pocket of enemy territory is created behind the lines (see page 22 for an example).
I hope this helps. If you haven’t already, check out the FAQ for more information.