@shadowguidex:
Can aircraft with no remaining movement points retreat from combat?
Scenario:
USA had 3 CV in SZ6 containing 6 FTR. Japan moved 3 TAC and 3 FTR along with 3 SUB and a DD into attack. The 6 aircraft moved 4 spaces to enter the sea zone, which ended up being legal because the player was purchasing 3 CV. He fly in and attacks and each of the CV was damaged by subs which can’t hit aircraft, and he called a retreat. He left the aircraft in the SZ and submerged the subs. At the end of the turn he landed the 5 surviving aircraft on the carriers and I had to remove my surviving aircraft because the carriers were damaged. (Almost all aircraft on both sides missed, the only real hits were from the subs)
If an aircraft with no movement remaining retreats can they remain in the zone??
I understood the scenario seeing Japan as attacker here.
In this case the answer is:
Yes, they can. See from the retreat rules:
@rulebook:
Retreating air units remain
in the contested space
temporarily. They complete
their retreat movement during
the Noncombat Move phase
using the same rules as an air
unit involved in a successful
battle.
And for the Noncombat Move:
@same:
Air Units: An air unit must end its move in an eligible landing
space. Air units can land in any territory that was friendly (but
not friendly neutral) at the start of the current turn.
Only fighters and tactical bombers can land in a sea zone
with a friendly carrier present. A landing spot must be
available on the carrier. Additionally:
- A fighter or tactical bomber can land in a sea zone (even a
hostile one) that is adjacent to an industrial complex you own
if you will be mobilizing an aircraft carrier that you previously
purchased in that zone during the Mobilize New Units phase.
…
HTH :-)