Kaihlhac's Balance and History Mod for
Global 1940

v3.2.1

New General Rules

e |f a captial is recaptured (every capture except the first time), the IPCs get destroyed ("going to the bank")
instead of going to the capturer.

e (Cruisers cost 11.

e Only half of the attacking (Strat-) Bombers roll in the Air fight in strategic bombing raids (rounded up).
Tactical Bombers and Fighter still get 1 dice each.

e Strict Neutrals work different now.

o If a strict neutral is attacked, the opponent side can choose one strict neutral at the end of that turn,
that becomes "pro" their side.

o The Allied democracies (USA, UK, Canada, ANZAC, France), in addition, have to pay the Neutral's
troop's combined cost in IPCs at the beginning of their combat move phase, reflecting the political
stress and civil opposition to such action (Axis and Soviet Union dont have to pay). In case of Spain
for example, America would have to pay 18 (3*6) IPCs to attack it (Remember that this only applies to
strict Neutrals. If a strict Neutral changed to "Pro Axis" earlier, it does not apply).

o If UK plans to attack a strict neutral, it can split the cost among the two economic zones as they
desire.

o Mongolia can never be selected to become "Pro Axis" for this matter.
e Small Factories can only produce one capital ship per turn (Aircraft Carriers or Battleships).
e Lend & Lease (Allies and Germany for Italy only):

o Nation can produce one unit with cost 8 or less per round for a receiving nation (Look for
restrictions/exceptions in the countries section and below).

o Place that unit in the receiver's color on the land territory with a factory of your choice (this counts
towards the production limit). Mark the unit with a "Lend & Lease"-Token, to indicate, that it is not a
fight-ready unit. Ships always need to be placed in a land territory with factory at the coast (notin a
sea zone). They are treated as "in dock”. A unit can only be placed on a landlocked factory, if its a
land unit, and if the nation has a theoretical land path to any territory of the receivers nation where
they are allowed to receive lend lease via land (this path can be under opponents or neutral control
at the moment). Otherwise it has to be placed in a costal factory. In the receiving nations deployment
phase, if they are at war, they may choose one unit a turn, that is designated for them, and move it
along a legal path to a factory of theirs and deploy it under their control (If they cant, because of
factory limits or there being no legal paths open, the unit stays where it is for upcoming rounds).

o The receiver has to control their capital (except China).

o Legal Paths: To transfer the material, the receiver has to show that there exists a legal path from the
source to the target zone.

= To do this, they follow these steps:
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. 1. Make sure source and target factory are intact (max 2 dmg for minor, 9 dmg for major,
special reception zones are listed below and always count as "intact").

2. (Sea way only) Choose a sea zone adjacent to the source factory's space and set the unit in
it.
3. Take as many of the units legal non combat moves as desired with the goal of reaching the

target factory (treat land units that go over a sea route like transports), or in case of ships,
with the goal of reaching the desired target deploy sea zone next to a factory.

There is one exception: transports' (and land units') paths are also blocked by submarines,
while warships can ignore submarines like usual.

4. Deploy the unit in the target zone (In comparison to normal deployment, ships cannot be
deployed in hostile sea zones. This would count as a blocked path).

o Exceptions for reception: Russia can also receive lend lease in Archangel, as if there would be a
factory. Additionally, Russia can receive material in Stalingrad (or Caucasus, if there is a factory), if a
legal sea path exists to SZ 80, and from Persia to said factory is a continuous Allied controlled path.
China can receive lend lease in Burma, Yunan or Szechwan, as if there would be a factory. Even tho
Burma might be under another Allied nations control and that nation might not be at war with Japan
yet, this is an exception to the usual spawning rules for Chinese units.

o Notice: Narrow sea ways that are blocked also block lend & lease material via sea (For example,
Germany could not send destroyers to Italy through a British controlled Strait of Gibraltar).

o Notice: Paths containig enemy warships but no destroyers do not block a legal path for submarines.
The strait of Gibraltar does not block legal paths for submarines.

o If a territory containing material for a receiver is captured, the material is destroyed. It does not fight.

o Soviets can only receivie lend & lease in Europe, if they are at war in Europe, and in the Pacific, if they
are at war in the Pacific, respectively (Keep in mind, that to be receiving in the Pacific, the Soviets
must control a factory on the Pacific board, which they dont at the beginning of the game).

o China can only receive infantry or artillery and never give material to anyone else.
o UK (inc. Canada, India, Anzac) cant lease to itself between economies/entities.

= Only one of Canada, ANZAC or Britain can lease once per round.

Country changes

Canada

Setup changes
e Change British units in Canadian land territories to Canadian.

e Add a cruiserin SZ 1.
e Add a fighter in Quebec.
e Add 1 Canadian Infantry to United Kingdom.
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Rules

e (Canada as seperate entity (red pieces), seated between China and UK.

e National Objective: Support for the Empire (5, if London is under British control and SZ 106 free of Axis
warships).

France

Instate Vichy regime
Condition

If for the first time Normandy and France are occupied by the Axis while Southern France is either French and
has no other Allied nation's units on it or is Axis controlled in an Axis nations collect income Phase: The player
that controls France (Paris) can choose to instate the Vichy regime. However, if Southern France is controlled
by another Axis power, its player has to agree.

Instatement

No matter who controls Southern France at this moment, it changes control to Vichy and all Axis land units are
moved to France (Paris). Every French controlled territory among "Morocco", "Algeria", "Tunisia", "Syria",
"French Indo China", "French Guiana" and "Madagascar" change control to Vichy, unless there are another
Allied nation's units on them. If that happens, all its French units, that are currently on it are considered Vichy
French troops, as well as every French ship that is in SZ 93 at that moment.

The controller of "France (Paris)" is now referenced as the "Victor over France" in these rules. The victor over
France gains a new national objective: "French occupation payments", which's value is 3 and condition is that
Vichy France is under Vichy control and none of Normandy and France are under Allied control.

Rules

e Vichy France is officially neutral, but de facto under heavy pressure of The Victor over France. That's why
the European Axis powers can land Aircraft only in Vichy colonial territories freely (all but Southern
France).

e At any time, either side can attack Vichy French territories with no penalty.

o If there are Axis Aircraft in the territory while the Allies attack it, conduct the combat as if Vichy was
on the Axis side (fight all nations at once).

o If there are Axis Aircraft in the territory while another Axis nation attack it, conduct the combat
without those planes. If captured or not, in any case the other nation's aircraft stay in the territory.

e Vichy French units dont move.
e To form the Army of the Armistice, Vichy spawns one infantry at the end of each French turn's end.

e Vichy French ships do not block movement for either side and can be ignored in battles. At any time,
either side can attack the Vichy French ships with no penalty. If there are an opposing nation's naval units
in the sea zone while you choose to attack the French ships, you need to battle both at the same time.
Your opponent with units involved chooses the order of losses. It is possible to scramble planes into the
battle as well, should there be an Airbase in Southern France with planes at the moment of the attack.
The ships have to be attacked by any side that wants to perform a naval invasion of Southern France
(Vichy) .
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e Free French rule: If the Vichy regime was instated this game, place a Free French flag in French West
Africa. From then on France spawns one free infantry in French West Africa every round. If its captured,
remove the flag and this effect ends.

Collapse

e The Victor over France can choose to collapse the Vichy Regime in the non combat phase. For that, he has
to make a non combat move into Southern France with an amount of land units equal or higher (AAA not
counted) than the amount of Vichy units in Southern France. Then he may take control of Southern
France. Dissolve all Vichy troops in Southern France. If there are Vichy ships in 93, they get replaced by
The Victor over France's equialent. The French colonies that are still under Vichy control at this point
become Free French again, with their troops.

e Ifin the beginning of the French turn, at least one French land unit is in Normandy or France (Paris), Vichy
collapses and all Vichy territories become French. All its units also become French. This is considered to
happen between turns (The units can act that turn).

e |f Southern France is not under Vichy control at any moment, immidiately do the above.
Clarifications

e |f Vichy dissolves in the Victor over France's turn, all of the Victor over France's planes that didnt move in the
combat phase have to leave Vichy territories in the same non combat phase. Planes that attacked in the
combat phase cant land there anymore. Any plane that cant make it to a different legal landing space is
destroyed. Other Axis nation's planes in any Vichy territory get a free movement of 1 range to a friendly
territory that was friendly since the beginning of the turn or a friendly carrier or are lost.

e |f Vichy dissolves in the beginning of Frances turn, all Axis planes in Vichy territories get a free movement
of 1 range to a friendly territory that was friendly since the beginning of the turn or a friendly carrier or
are lost.

Britain
Setup changes

e Add 1 destroyer in SZ 94.
e Add 1 infantry in Borneo.

e Move the British Battleship from SZ 37 to SZ 43 and add a transport to it.

London falling

e Should London fall in Axis hands, do the usual. But at the beginning of every Canadian Collect Income
Phase, the Canadian player and the British player can agree to move the capital to Ottawa. If they do, this
means Canada takes control over all original British (Europe) territories currently under British control
and becomes its original owner. From then on Canada can never collect their national objective again and
Britain (Europe) can never collect income at all anymore. Instead, Canada receives the national
punishment: "Crumbling Empire, -8, as long as London is not under Allied control, which only effects
income from territories outside of (geographically) Canada. Also destroy every Canadian factory except in
(geographically) Canada the moment you move the capital.

o Notice: British territories, that were not originally British remain with the RAF roundel. But remember
that Britain can never collect income again.
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Other rules

e The British, ANZAC and Canadian can still enter the Dutch territories, but they can't take control of them
(and add the income of them to their income) while at peace with Japan. Should there be a land unit on
them the moment a state of war is enacted, they immidiately take control of it (if there are multiple
nations present, you decide). This counts as "since the beginning of the turn".

e Aslong as any of Gibraltar, Malta or Egypt are under Allied control, Britain (not its dominions) can move
one land unit among Gibraltar, Malta or Egypt as non combat movement. The movement is done like
there would be an imaginary transport in 98. 96 or 92 respectively. This move is only possible, if all
involved SZ are not hostile.

Italy

e Sicily and Southern Italy count as connected.

e Aslong as Libya or Tobruk and Northern or Southern Italy or Sicily are under Italian control, Italy can
move one land unit from one of the mentioned African territories to one of the Italian or the other way
around each turn, as non combat movement. The movement is done like there would be an imaginary
transport, that can move from SZ 96 to 97 or 95 (or the other way round). This move is only possible, if the
selected sea zone (95 or 97) and SZ 96 are not hostile.

Clarifications

e Notice: Vichy French control does never count for the North Africa national objective.

e Notice: Southern France being under Vichy control does count for the Greece - Southern France - Gibraltar
- Egypt bonus.

e Notice: Should Italy or Britain capture each others "Special Transport" territories, for example: should Italy
capture Malta and Gibraltar, they still cannot use the other's special ability. This reflects the difference in
civilian cooperation and logistical know-how for the respective regions.

Russia

e Urals, Novosibirsk, Kazakhstan and Amur are now worth 2 IPCs. Evenkiyskiy, Yenisey, Yakut S.S.R. and
Buryatia are now worth 0 IPCs.

o Evenkiyskiy - Yakut S.S.R. are now impassible by land.

e Russia can pay 12 IPCs to move a minor factory they own instead of errecting a new one to a legal target
(2+ ipcs worth territory). It must be fully intact (0 damage) to do so. Because the repair phase comes first,
it is indeed correct, that the factory can be repaired and moved in the same turn. A factory moved can't
produce the same turn (neither in the old spot nor in the new).

e Scorched Earth: Russia can damage their own factories in the "Repair" Phase at a cost of 1 IPC per 2
points of damage.

e Russia is less effected when their capital falls. They lose their IPCs to their opponent like normal, but they
continue collecting halve their income (rounded down) while they dont control Moscow. However, they
cannot collect national objectives nor receive lend & lease while this is the case. They can always produce
and repair (given they have the IPCs).

e African and Middle Eastern territories no longer give the Communism bonus.
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e Russia can move up to 2 land units across the Trans-Sibirian railroad per turn (From Buryatia to
Novosibirsk or back, only if all involved territories are under Russian control).

e Remove the 5 IPC bonus for 125 free of Axis warships. This is now compensated by lend and lease rules.
e Add one Neutral Artillery in Ulanbaatar and Buyant-Uhaa.
e Russia can receive Lend & Lease material in Archangel as if there would be a factory.

e (Can not lend & lease to enemies of Germany while not at war with Germany (Theme: Molotov-
Ribbentrob-Pact).

Germany

e Canlend & lease to Italy.

e Must declare war on Soviet Union to enter Italian-controlled original Soviet territories (Fixing base game
loophole).

USA

e Remove one BB and in SZ 10. Replace the warships in SZ26 with 2 BB. Add one DD in SZ 25 and one in 31.

e While at peace, American warships (not transports) have restrictions. The 2 zone barrier, that Japan cant
cross, cant be crossed by American ships from the Mainland side either. Warships coming from the
European side of the map must go to SZ 11 and fall under the same restriction. The BBs in Hawaii cant
leave sz 26 (transports and units that didnt start there can).

e Add the national penalty -20 IPCs for Burden of Isolationism for the first American turn and -10 IPCs for
Burden of Isolationism for the second American turn.

o American start income is also adjusted to 32.

e Receivers cannot take American lend & lease material until the end of the American second turn if they
are not at war (but America can already stockpile for other nations in turn 1).

o Notice: This is because in reality, America ratified the Lend & Lease act in Feb. 1941 while not at war.
e (Can never receive Lend & Lease from others.

e (Cash and carry: if an Allied transport (British, Canadian, etc...) ends its movement in SZ 101 or SZ 10 and
USA is not at war yet, they can load available American units as if they would be their own. At this
moment, they get replaced with the nations equialent at no cost.

e USA cant enter the war in the collect income phase of turn 3 anymore. Instead they can enter the war at
the beginning of turn 4.

China

e Replace one infantry with one artillery in Szechwan.

e |n addition to the known exceptions, China can attack into French Indo China (Theme: partisan attacks on
vital supply lines). However, these attacks have restrictions for the civil war torn Chinese. They can only
fight one round of combat and must retreat then. They can never capture FIC.

e Chinas national objective is split and changed:

o China collects 3 Bonus IPCs, if Yunnan is Allied at the end of their turn (Theme: Safe base of
operations).
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o China collects 3 Bonus IPCs, if Burma and Yunnan is Allied at the end of their turn (Theme: Burma
road a vital supply line).

Japan
e Additionally to the normal restrictions, Japans ships can't enter SZ 26, 25, 13, 27, 31, 30 while not at war

with America.

e Can now produce Kamikaze for 5 IPCs each and can have up to 10 Kamikaze max.
e Cannot collect the 10 IPC oil trading bonus in round 4 and later.

e (Can not use the Lend & Lease rules with anyone.
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