39. Global 1939 Expansion:

Late 1939

Late 1939 marked the beginning of World War I1.
Germany invaded Poland from the West - and the
Soviet Union invaded Poland from the East.

With no warning or declaration of War.

United Kingdom and France declared War on
Germany shortly after.

All Nations on the Globe were thrown into a new
World War.

1. Germany

2. Soviet Union

3. Japan

4. United States

5. China

6. United Kingdom & India

7. Italy

8. ANZAC

9. France

10. Set Up
Introduction:
The Axis & Allies Global 1939 Expansion begins the
game in Late 1939.
This is one round before the OOB Axis & Allies
Global 1940 begins.

For game play reasons the Late 1939 period also
covers a period of Early 1940, since the Historical
German invasion of Denmark, Norway and Holland-
Belgium occurred in Early 1940.

In the same way is Slovakia-Hungary and Romania
considered as allies to Germany and therefore as
original German territories.

The following rules will take you through the
events in Late 1939 - step by step.

1. Germany:

Germany starts the game with no IPC income
available.

The German IPC level on the Expanded National
Production Chart (ENPC) is corrected to 20 IPC.

This also means, that Germany does not purchase
any units until the beginning of Early 1940 (original
game start).

The German 1st round is divided into a Two-Impulse
phase.
1st Impulse: Invasion of Poland
- Infantry units, Panzer units and Artillery
units from Germany may attack Poland.
- Panzer units and Mechanized Infantry units
from Western Germany may attack Poland.
- Air units from Germany and Western
Germany may attack Poland.
- No other German attacks can occur and no
other German units can move during the 1st
Impulse.

The units in Poland are represented by United
Kingdom units - and the United Kingdom IPC level
at the ENPC is corrected with 2 [PC in favor of the
United Kingdom, bringing the United Kingdom IPC
level up to 47 IPC.

If Germany captures Poland during the 1st Impulse,
the IPC level is corrected in favor of Germany.

If Germany does not capture Poland during the 1st
Impulse any surviving UK units in Poland may move
(attack German units and/or Non-Combat Move)
during the United Kingdom players turn.



In this case, Germany cannot attack Poland until
Early 1940.

After the German 1st Impulse attack (if any) any
surviving German Panzer units and Mechanized
Infantry units that attacked Poland, may perform a
Non-Combat Move at their normal movement
capacity.

These Panzer and Mechanized Infantry units can
only move to Germany and/or Western Germany.

Any German Air units that took part in the attack on
Poland must land in Germany and/or Western
Germany.

Infantry and Artillery units that took part in and
survived the invasion of Poland may not move -
they must stay in Poland - at least for now.

No Strategic Rail Movement is available for German
units until Early 1940.

2nd Impulse: Invasion of Denmark, Norway and
Holland-Belgium:

- Panzer units and Mechanized Infantry units
from Germany may attack Denmark, Norway
and Holland-Belgium

- Panzer units, Mechanized Infantry units,
Infantry units and Artillery units from
Western Germany may attack Denmark,
Norway and Holland-Belgium

- Air units from Germany and Western
Germany may attack Denmark, Norway and
Holland-Belgium

- German naval units in sea zone 113 and 114
may take part in the attack on Denmark
and/or Norway.

- No other German attacks can occur and no
other German units can move during the 2nd
Impulse.

For game play reasons, the defending units in
Denmark and Norway and are represented by
United Kingdom units.

The units in Holland-Belgium are both represented
by French and UK units.
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If Germany does not capture Holland-Belgium
during the 2nrd Impulse, the IPC level is not
corrected in favor of any player.

If Germany does not capture Holland-Belgium in
Early 1940 then the IPC level is corrected in favor of
the UK player.

Denmark, Norway and Holland-Belgium are
considered Pro Allied Neutrals.

If Germany captures Denmark, Norway and/or
Holland-Belgium the IPC level is corrected in favor
of Germany.

If Germany does not capture Denmark and/or
Norway during the 2nd Impulse the IPC level is not
corrected in favor of any Nation.

Any surviving UK and/or French units in Denmark,
Norway and/or Holland /Belgium may move (attack
German units and/or Non-Combat Move) during
the UK and French players turn.

After the 2nd Impulse, the German Cruiser unit and
Transport unit must retreat to sea zone 114 and the
German Battleship unit must retreat to sea zone
113.

Even if these units already moved during the
German 2nd Impulse.

After the German 2nd Impulse attacks (if any) any
German units that did not take part in this attack
may perform a Non-Combat Move at their normal
movement capacity.

These units can do their Non-Combat Movement
into any territory - within their original movement
range - that Germany controlled from the start of
the 2nd Impulse.

Any German Air units - whether or not they took
part in the attack - can land on the same terms.

Infantry, Artillery, Panzer and Mechanized Infantry
units that took part in and survived the 2nd [mpulse
attacks and captured Denmark, Norway and/or
Holland-Belgium may not move after the end of the
2nd Impulse attack. They can move on Germanys
next turn.

After the end of Germanys 2nd Impulse, the German
player collects IPC income according to the ENPC.

Note 1:

If the German player does not launch the 1st
Impulse and/or 2rd Impulse attacks, no German
units anywhere on the game board can move until
the German players turn in Early 1940.

No German National Objective Bonus or Advanced
Production Capacity incomes are collected in 1939.




2. Soviet Union:

The Soviet Union starts the game with no IPC
income available.

The Soviet IPC level on the ENPC is corrected to 36
IPC.

This also means, that the Soviet Union does not
purchase any units until its turn in Early 1940
(original game start).

The Soviet 1st round is divided into a Two-Impulse
phase.
1st Impulse: Invasion of Vyborg & Karelia:
- Infantry units, Tank unit, Artillery units and
the Fighter unit from Novgorod may attack
Vyborg and/or Karelia.
- No other Soviet attacks can occur and no
other Soviet units can move during the 1st
Impulse.

The Finnish units in Vyborg and Karelia are
represented by German units - for game play
reasons only.

If the Soviet Union captures Karelia during the 1st
Impulse, the IPC level is corrected in favor of the
Soviet Union.

Vyborg and Karelia must both be captured during
the 1st Impulse if the Soviet player wants to attack
Finland during the 2nd Impulse.

If the Soviet Union does not capture both Vyborg
and Karelia are during the 1st Impulse any surviving
units that defend in Vyborg and Karelia may
immediately move to Finland - or stay in Vyborg
and/or Karelia.

In this case, the Soviet Union cannot attack Vyboryg,
Karelia or Finland until Late 1941 - or until
Germany and/or Italy declares War on or attacks
the Soviet Union — whichever comes first.

Vyborg and Karelia are considered original Soviet
territories for game play reasons only.

The Soviet Union must control Karelia in order to
collect the IPC value from this territory.

If the Soviet Union does not control Karelia, the IPC
from Karelia is not collected by any player until
either captured by Axis forces or captured by the
Soviet Union.

If Vyborg and Karelia are both captured during the
1st Impulse then the Soviet player may choose to
attack Finland during the 2nd Impulse.

Any Soviet land units that captured Vyborg and
Karelia must stay in these territories after the 1st
Impulse.

The Soviet Fighter unit from Novgorod must land in
Novgorod - even if it did not take part in the 1st
Impulse attack.

2nd Impulse: Invasion Finland:

- Any units from Vyborg and Karelia may
attack Finland.

- The Soviet Fighter unit from Novgorod may
take part in the attack on Finland.

- No other Soviet attacks can occur and no
other Soviet units can move during the
2nd [mpulse.

If the Soviet Union captures Finland, the IPC level is
corrected in favor of the Soviet Union.

If the Soviet Union does not capture Finland during
the 2nd Impulse, the IPC level is not corrected in
favor of any player.

After the Soviet 2nd Impulse attack (if any) any
Soviet units that took take part in this attack may
perform a Non-Combat Move at their normal
movement capacity - even though they moved
during the attack on Finland.

The land units can move into Vyborg and/or
Karelia.

The Soviet Fighter unit must land in Novgorod.



No other Soviet units can move until the Soviet
players turn in Early 1940.

After the end of the Soviet Union’s 2nd Impulse, the
Soviet player collects IPC income according to the
ENPC.

No National Objective Bonus income is collected
until the Soviet Union is at War with Germany
and/or Italy.

Exception:

If the Soviet Union captures Finland during the 2nd
Impulse attack, the Soviet player immediately
collects 3 IPC from the bank.

This is a one-time [PC reward.

The Soviet player cannot collect this National
Objective Bonus income again — unless the Soviet
Union controls Finland at its Collect Income phase
and is at War with Germany and/or Italy.

Winter-War Rule:

Any Soviet units that attack during both the 1st and
2nd Impulse attack must attack at “1” during the
first round of combat.

Any Finnish units that defend during both the 1st
and 2nd Soviet Impulse attacks must defend at “5”
during the first round of combat.

From the second round of combat all units attack
and defend at their normal factor.

Note 2:

If the Soviet player does not launch the 1st Impulse
attack, no Soviet units anywhere on the game board
can move until the Soviet players turn in Early
1940.

Remember:

If the Soviet player captures both Vyborg and
Karelia, the Soviet player may choose to launch the
2nd Impulse attack on Finland.

If the Soviet player does not launch the 2nd Impulse
attack on Finland, any Soviet units in Vyborg and/or
Karelia may move into Novgorod - or stay where
they are until the Soviet players turn in Early 1940.

Note 3:

For game play reasons Baltic States, Eastern Poland
and Bessarabia are considered original Soviet
territories.

No changes to these territories and Set Up are
included in the Global 1939 Expansion scenario.




3. Japan:
Japan has no turn in the Late 1939 scenario.

4. United States:
United States has no turn in the Late 1939 scenario.

5. China:
China has no turn in the Late 1939 scenario.

6. United Kingdom & India:

United Kingdom & India have no turn in the Late
1939 scenario.

The only UK units that may move in Late 1939 are
the UK units mentioned in the German 1st and 2nd
Impulse attacks.

7. Italy:
Italy has no turn in the Late 1939 scenario.

8. ANZAC:
ANZAC has no turn in the Late 1939 scenario.

9. France:

France has no turn in the Late 1939 scenario. The
only French units that may move in Late 1939 are
the French units mentioned in the German 2nd
Impulse attack.

French Naval units in sea zone 92:
The French naval units in sea zone 92 represents
the French Navy anchored at Mers El Kébir.

The French naval units in sea zone 92 are
immediately replaced by German units of the same
category.

If these naval units survive round Early 1940, the
German player can use these naval units from Late
1940 on the same terms as any other German units.

These naval units are German for the rest of the
game - or until they are lost in combat.

Important:

If the German player attacks Southern France or the
French naval units in sea zone 93 in Early 1940, the
French naval units in sea zone 92 are scuttled and
removed from play.

If the German player does not attack Southern
France or the French naval units in sea zone 93 in
Early 1940 the French fleet in sea zone 92 becomes
German at the German players Collect Income phase
in Early 1940.

If the Italian player attacks Southern France or
Morocco or the French naval units in sea zone 93 in
Early 1940, the German (former French) naval units
in sea zone 92 are scuttled and removed from play.



10. Global 1939 Set Up:

The German Set Up mentioned below replaces the
0O0B Global 1940 Set Up:

Germany:
- 6 Infantry, 3 Artillery
- 7 Tanks
- 2 Strategic Bomber
- 1 Tactical Bomber
- 1 Fighter
- 3 AAA, 1 major IC
Western Germany:
- 35 Infantry, 5 Artillery, 3 Tanks
- 5 Mechanized Infantry
- 4 Tactical Bomber
- 5 Fighter
- 3 AAA, 1 major IC
- 1 Naval Base, 1 Air Base
Slovakia/Hungary:
- 1 Infantry
Romania:
- 1 Infantry
Karelia:
- 2 Infantry (Finnish units)
Vyborg:
- 2 Infantry (Finnish units)
SZ103:
- 1 U-Boat
SZ 108:
- 1 U-Boat
SZ 113:
- 1 Battleship
SZ 114:
- 1 Cruiser, 1 Transport
SZ117:
- 1 U-Boat
SZ118:
- 1 U-Boat
SZ 124:
- 1 U-Boat

The Soviet Union Set Up is according to the OOB
Global 1940 Set Up.

The units mentioned below are in addition to the
0O0B Global 1940 Set Up.

Novgorod:
- 17 Infantry, 2 Artillery
- 1 Tank, 1 Mechanized Infantry
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Japan:
The Japanese Set Up is according to the OOB Global
1940 Set Up.

United States & China:
The US and Chinese Set Up are according to the
0O0B Global 1940 Set Up.

United Kingdom & India:
The UK Set Up is according to the OOB Global 1940
Set Up.

The UK units mentioned below are in addition to
the OOB Global 1940 Set Up:
United Kingdom:

- 1Infantry, 1 Fighter
Holland/Belgium:

- 6 Infantry, 1 Artillery, 1 Tank
Poland:

- 3lInfantry, 1 Artillery

- 1 Tank, 2 Fighter
Norway:

- 2 Infantry
Denmark:

- 1lInfantry
SZ110:

- 1 Destroyer

Italy:
The Italian Set Up is according to the OOB Global
1940 Set Up.

ANZAC:
The ANZAC Set Up is according to the OOB Global
1940 Set Up.

The French Set Up is according to the OOB Global
1940 Set Up.

The French units mentioned below are in addition
to the OOB Global 1940 Set Up:
France:
- 1 Mechanized Infantry, 1 Tank
Southern France:
- 1 Mechanized Infantry
Holland/Belgium:
- 3lInfantry, 3 Tanks, 2 Fighter
SZ 92:
- 1 Battleship, 2 Destroyer



