Introduction

The goal is to speed up the game. This is accomplished by allowing players on
the same team to take their turns simultaneously. For many Axis and Allies games the
turn order goes

1)USSR  2)GER 3) UK 4) JAP 5) USA

So when it gets to the USA’s 1st, the USSR can do their same phases in step.
Separate Nations Still CANNOT attack together.

When friendly powers can go at the same time, you can rearrange turn order to
speed things up even more! You can keep doing this until the round happens in 2 turns.
Since players cannot do combined attacks there is a chart to organize that, and keep it
as similar as possible to the original rules. And if combat moves don’t affect each other,
players can just take their turns as quickly as they like.

This document tries to address the different eventualities that may come up in
different scenarios, but the base idea is simple and hopefully intuitive enough to make
play easier than the length of this document suggests.

The aim is for a simple Idea with lots of fiddly bits that can be ignored most of the time.

Combined Turns

Allies, back to back in turn order, can do their turns at the same time. Both
nations can progress through their turn phases as quickly as they want, with one
exception. Since separate nations cannot attack together. If the USSR wants to make
combat moves based on the results of the USA combat resolves the USSR player may
choose to wait till the USA completes their Combat Resolution phase before doing your
combat moves.

Remember, if no combat moves interfere with friendly combat moves happening
in the combined turn, both the USA and USSR can do their phases together. Players
can do all other phases as quickly as they want. You only need to check in with your
allies if the Combat Move and Resolve Combat phases affect your decisions.

Players may wait at any phase (like the Purchase phase) until other players finish
later phases if they want the information.(combat must still be in order) This slows things
down so players should avoid this, but it is allowed as it may be useful at key points in the game




Rearrange Turn Order

To allow for more combined turns, you can rearrange the turn order of the round.
In the above turn order if Japan goes before the UK the entire round can be done in 2
combined turns.

There are different ways to change the order to allow for more combined turns
depending on the version of Axis and Allies you have. In this version there are 2
options. The UK goes before Germany, or Japan goes before the UK. Players should
agree which powers will swap, and what round the change will happen, before the game
starts.

Skip Turn
To make things more fair add a mini turn for the Skip Player
Terms
Skip Player The player moving back in the turn order
Jump Player The player moving forward in the turn order
Jump Round The round when the turn order changes
Skip Turn A mini turn the Skip Player gets on the round when turn order
changes
Phases:

1. Purchase Only Factories or infantry. 1 infantry / constructed factory

2. Combat Only against the Jump Player

3. Non Combat Only for units that start or end closer to the Jump Player than any enemy

4. Place Units Factories must be placed closer to the ‘Jump Player’ than any enemy
Factories built in earlier rounds can have 1 infantry placed in them



Combined Turn Combat

If you combine turns with rearranged turn order, it can become complex for
resolving the combat move and combat resolution phases in the same order. To keep
this as similar as possible, any combined turns generate a chart.

Do this by making a column for each enemy power. Put that power's name at the
top of the column. Starting from the power at the top of the column, go through the
original turn order adding each enemy power to the top empty spot of that column.

If a player in a combined turn wants to make combat moves that are affected by
other combat moves happening that turn, go in order of the combat chart.

Making Charts

1)USSR  2)GER 3) UK 4) JAP 5) USA

Below is a chart for the above turn order. Remember, the charts are from the original
turn order so rearranged turns don’t change the chart.

Allies Combat Order Axis Combat Order
Attack Attack Attack Attack Attack
Germany | Japan USSR UK USA
UK (1st) | USA (2nd) GER (2nd) | JAP (1st) | GER (2nd)
USA (2nd) | USSR JAP (3rd) | GER (2nd) | JAP (3rd)
(3rd)
USSR (3rd) | UK (4th)

For each (1st, 2nd... and so on ) you do both the Combat Move and Resolve Combat
phases. 1st, 2nd etc are called actions. 1st is an action label

Add the action labels to the chart to allow powers to make their entire combat
move at the same time. Each action should span as few different rows as possible, and
the rows must be adjacent. One player will always end up with 2 actions on the first and
last rows. That is the only player who will need to do 2 separate actions to fill their
combat move/resolution phases. The (1st) action label should be given to the power
who is in the top row with the fewest squares in the top row.

If no other combat moves are affected by the (1st) action you can join the (1st)

action to the other action(s) done by that power.




Other Ramifications

Landing Aircraft

Landing Aircraft still happens in the non-Combat Move Phase. And can only
attack in one action. Aircraft can only land in a territory that was friendly at the start of
the turn. Combined turns affect that. The group can do either

A. Land aircraft only in territories that were friendly at the start of the action they
fought in

B. If you opted for the (1st) action to be resolved later you cannot land plans the
would have flown in the (1st) action in any territories not controlled at the start of
the Turn.

Carrier Aircraft

1. Planes may land on any friendly carrier like normal rules.

2. Friendly carriers in a combined turn may move to pickup aircraft

3. If you make a move that will require this you must first get permission from the
friendly carrier’s power. If they give permission they must follow through.

4. If aircraft were going to land on a carrier and that carrier gets destroyed and the
aircraft are stranded, other friendly carriers may but do not have to pick up these
planes.

Collect income

This all happens as normal, any liberated territories in the combined turn get collected
by their power (if that player was in the combined turn).

OR

You may move the collect income phase from the end of the turn to after the spending
phase. This means territories recently conquered do not get collected by either side.
This can take lots of money out of the game and will generally speed things up.



