
Subs on the prowl 

”UP PERISCOPE – ATTACK” 

Subs can attack transports with their escorts – or 

they can attack warships. When subs are attacking 

into a sea zone with enemy transports and 

warships, the attacker must choose to attack the 

transports or the warships. In this case, escorts are 

considered to protect transports (Convoy rule) – 

even though escorts have some warlike functions.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Remember: 

Subs can never attack together with other units. 

Subs can never defend together with other units.  

When subs attack together with other units into 

enemy sea zones, the subs always attack first. 

When subs are in a sea zone with other friendly 

units, the attacker must choose to attack the subs or 

the other naval units – unless the attacker has 

enough units to attack both. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Transports: 

When subs attack transports alone or with other 

transports, the attacking subs can only make a one 

shot attack. Surviving transports automatically 

escape.  

When subs attack transports alone or with other 

transports, each attacking sub receives on die for 

each transport. 

However, each attacking sub receives a maximum 

of two dice each. These subs attack at a die roll of 

“4” or less. 

When the attack is over, any surviving transports 

remain in the same sea zone. 

 

Example: 

1 UK transport and 1 US transport occupy the same 

sea zone. In the same sea zone there is also a UK 

battleship present. 

A German U-Boat attacks into this sea zone. The 

German U-Boat Commander must choose to attack 

either the battleship or the two transports. 

In this case the U-Boat Commander attacks the two 

transports – and fires two torpedoes – two dice 

rolls at “4” and “5”. One hit and one miss. 

The U-boat Commander chooses which transport 

has been sunk. The other transport escapes, but 

stays in the same sea zone. 

 

Transports with Escorts: 

When subs attack into a sea zone containing 

transports and escorts, the escorts automatically 

defend with the transports. 

If a sub attacks into an enemy sea zone containing 

three transports, 1 escort, a carrier and two 

destroyers, the sub commander chooses which 

group to attack. The sub commander must attack 

the transport group with the escort, or the carrier 

and two destroyers. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If the sub commander chose to attack the 

transports, the escort would defend at “3” or less – 

and the transports would just take hits. In this case 

the escort would apply the “Convoy Rule”. In most 

attacks the sub commander chooses the targets. 
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Exception: 

When subs attack transports with their escorts, 

transports must take hits first. The sub commander 

can choose the order in which the transports take 

hits, but the escorts are last. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Example: 

Two U-Boats are attacking two transports and one 

escort. The escort applies the Convoy Rule. The subs 

attack at “2” or less and the escort returns with a 

“3” or less. The subs fire their torpedoes – a “2” and 

a “4”. One hit and one miss. One transport is 

removed. The escort fires back, a “4” die roll ensues. 

A miss.  

At this time the sub commander has a decision to 

make – to carry on with the attack or slip away. One 

transport has been sunk – but the sub commander 

wants both transports if possible. Both subs fire 

their torpedoes again. This time a “4” and a “5” – no 

hits. The escort firs back – a “3”. One hit. One sub is 

lost. The remaining sub chooses to flee. 

 

There is one other option the sub commander has 

during the first round of combat. When subs attack, 

for each hit they record, one sub can disengage 

from battle before surviving escorts can return fire. 

 

Destroyers with other Warships: 

Another exception to the sub commander choosing 

targets is when subs are attacking warships. The 

destroyers must be the targets first. The sub 

commander as usual can choose which destroyers 

take the hits first. 
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